Guides

Udhaar Box Loan App Real or Fake? Lender, Rates and Reviews

Pankaj Pandey By Pankaj Pandey · Content Writer Edited by BankCreds Content & SEO Team Updated 30 October 2026 Reviewed by BankCreds Financial Experts
Published 30 October 2026 · 11 min read

Udhaar Box is real, and the lender runs it directly. Moneyplus Financial Services Limited, an NBFC on RBI's register, owns the app and issues every loan, with no middleman in between. That settles the "fake" question. Safety is harder to call. The app is new, and its prices are all over the place. Depending on the page, the rate runs from 10.5% a year to as much as 365% a year flat.

So the single thing to check is the Key Fact Statement the app shows before you sign. Read the APR, the fee and the amount you'll actually receive, and ignore the headline rates. Our full Udhaar Box review covers the ratings and scores.

Udhaar Box at a glance

  • Lender: Moneyplus Financial Services Limited, entry 4592 in RBI's NBFC register for 30 September 2026. It doesn't take deposits.
  • App: "Udhaar Box - Personal Loan App" on Google Play, from MONEYPLUS FINANCIAL SERVICES LIMITED. It has 10K+ downloads and a 3.4 rating from 64 reviews.
  • Loans: ₹1,000 to ₹50,000, repaid over 1 to 6 months according to the website, or 3 to 6 months according to Play.
  • Price: unclear. Fees run 2% to 10% plus GST, and the quoted interest rates disagree wildly.
  • Watch for: rejections after KYC, the most common complaint in recent reviews, and any request for money outside the app.

Who owns Udhaar Box and lends the money

This part is simple. The Udhaar Box website says MoneyPlus owns and operates the app, and that MoneyPlus issues all its loans. The Play listing names the same company as developer. And MoneyPlus's own homepage lists Udhaar Box under "Our Digital Lending Applications".

So no separate tech company sits in the chain. That helps you, because the name on the app is the name on your loan. MoneyPlus runs a second lending app, All About Money, which is a different brand.

MoneyPlus is mainly a small-business lender. Its about page calls it a financial partner for small businesses, and its main business is MSME loans. Play describes Udhaar Box as a division of the company.

Is Udhaar Box RBI registered? Checks you can run

Strictly, RBI registers lenders, not apps. The Udhaar Box site says "Udhaarbox is registered with the RBI", but it's MoneyPlus that holds the registration. Here's how to confirm it for yourself.

  1. Copy the CIN. The Udhaar Box site prints U67100DL1993PLC192265 for MoneyPlus.
  2. Search RBI's NBFC list. We read the edition dated 15 October 2026, which shows NBFCs registered on 30 September 2026. MoneyPlus is entry 4592 under the New Delhi office.
  3. Compare the details. The CIN matches, and the register gives the same Palam Village address in New Delhi. RBI classes it as a Base Layer lender of the Investment and Credit Company type, with no deposits.
  4. Check the lender's own site. MoneyPlus lists Udhaar Box as one of its two lending apps. A lender vouching for the app counts for more than the app's own claim.
  5. Search RBI's lending app directory. On 30 October 2026 the page bounced us back to RBI's home page, so that listing stays unconfirmed.
  6. Look for warnings. Our searches that day found no RBI press release, penalty or police case against either name.

What an Udhaar Box loan costs: the numbers don't agree

Here's the problem in one table. These are the terms each source showed on 30 October 2026.

Term

Udhaar Box website

Google Play listing

MoneyPlus charges schedule, digital loans

Amount

₹1,000 to ₹50,000

₹1,000 to ₹50,000

Not stated

Tenure

1 to 6 months

3 to 6 months

Payday loan: 70 days to 6 months (MoneyPlus homepage)

Interest

From 10.5% a year (FAQ says from 24%)

0% to 36% a year

Up to 365% a year flat (payday) or 60% flat (short-term personal)

Processing fee

2% to 10% plus GST

"Minimal"

Up to 10%, plus up to 2% risk fee and a ₹25 signing fee on short-term personal loans

Foreclosure

Zero

4% of principal plus GST

Nil

Bounce charge

Not stated

4% of overdue principal or ₹500, whichever is lower

₹100 or ₹200 plus GST

APR

Not stated

0% to 125%

Not stated

Which figure is right? We can't tell, and you shouldn't guess. On the MoneyPlus homepage, the Udhaar Box tagline "Pay only for days you borrow" matches its payday loan. That loan is priced at 0.1% to 1% a day. On ₹10,000, that's ₹10 to ₹100 of interest every day. At the top rate, one month would cost about ₹3,000.

For a gentler illustration, take Play's top rate of 36% and the website's top fee of 10%. On ₹20,000 over 6 months, the fee plus GST is ₹2,360, so ₹17,640 reaches you. The EMI would be about ₹3,692, and you'd repay ₹22,152 in all. That's our sum, not a quote from the lender.

The sample loan on Play doesn't fit the app at all. It shows ₹2,00,000 over 3 years, four times the app's ₹50,000 cap. Its figures don't add up either. An EMI of ₹8,020 for 36 months comes to ₹2,88,720, which means ₹88,720 of interest, not the ₹80,460 it states.

Late payment is muddled too. Play charges 36% a year on overdue principal. MoneyPlus's interest rate policy says penal charges must not take the form of penal interest. And its penal charges page says 2% plus 18% GST a month on the outstanding balance.

Why people wonder if Udhaar Box is fake

  • It's brand new. Play's "What's new" note still reads "Initial Release", even at version 1.0.7, and downloads are only 10K+.
  • A dead web address on Play. The listing links to udhaarbox.in, which didn't resolve on 30 October 2026. The working site is udhaarbox.com.
  • Prices that contradict each other, as the table above shows.
  • Puzzling data claims. Play's data safety panel lists location, files and documents, installed apps, SMS and device IDs as shared with third parties. The same panel says no data is collected. RBI's 2025 digital lending rules tell apps to keep away from phone files, media, contacts and call logs.
  • A privacy policy for another product. The policy linked from the app is MoneyPlus's website policy for business and MSME loans. It doesn't mention the app, SMS or location.
  • Contacts that point elsewhere. The Play developer block uses product@allaboutmoney.in, the sister app's address.

None of this makes Udhaar Box a fake. The lender is registered and owns the app. It does mean the paperwork is sloppy, so the actual offer deserves a slow, careful read.

Udhaar Box reviews so far

As of October 2026, Udhaar Box holds a 3.4 rating from 64 ratings on Google Play. The spread is odd: 35 five-star, 5 four-star and 24 one-star, with none at two or three stars.

Most of the text reviews are unhappy. We read all 26 written reviews posted between 5 September and 28 October 2026, and 21 gave one star. The main complaints:

  • Rejected after KYC. Several people say the app took PAN, Aadhaar and other details, then turned them down. The developer's reply says approval depends on underwriting and suggests trying again in a few days.
  • High interest. One reviewer flagged a 365% interest rate. Another said a ₹20,000 loan came with ₹17,000 of interest.
  • Double debit. One borrower says a weekly EMI was auto-debited a second time after payment, and emails went unanswered.

The praise is thin, and some of it looks odd. Two of the earliest five-star reviews went up a minute apart on 5 September 2026. One carried the name Anup Sharma. That's also the name of the person Udhaar Box lists for digital lending complaints. That looks inorganic, though we can't prove it.

Spotting a fake Udhaar Box app or agent

The real app's package is com.udhaarbox.loan, and the developer shown on Play is MONEYPLUS FINANCIAL SERVICES LIMITED. If either detail differs, it isn't the real app.

Names close to Udhaar Box belong to other things. Udhaar Book and Udhaar App are bookkeeping apps, not lenders. RBL Bank's "Udhaar" is a credit product for shopkeepers. None of them is this lender.

A few habits keep you safe:

  • Skip APKs. Udhaar Box is on Google Play, so there's no reason to install it from a link someone forwards to you.
  • Don't prepay fees. A real NBFC sets its fee in the KFS. A caller who wants a "processing charge" sent by UPI before approval is a warning sign.
  • Repay only by mandate. Udhaar Box collects EMIs weekly or monthly through a bank mandate such as NACH or UPI Autopay. Never pay a personal UPI ID.
  • Expect polite recovery. MoneyPlus's fair practice code says recovery messages must be courteous and free of intimidation or harassment.

Complaints and contacts for Udhaar Box

  • Support and digital grievance officer: Anup Sharma, +91 9818139887, digitalcare@moneyplusfin.com (Udhaar Box website).
  • Play support email: product@udhaarbox.com.
  • MoneyPlus toll-free: 1800 258 4342, care@moneyplusfin.com (MoneyPlus contact page).
  • Company grievance officer: Ms. Payal, care@moneyplusfin.com (MoneyPlus grievance policy).
  • Account deletion: email digitalcare@moneyplusfin.com with the subject "Account and Personal Data Deletion Request".

No support hours are published. MoneyPlus's grievance policy aims to settle a first complaint within 10 days and send a final reply within 30 days. After that, RBI's Integrated Ombudsman is the next stop: file online at cms.rbi.org.in, or ring RBI's contact centre on 14448 for help. Tricked into paying a fake agent? Report it to the cyber crime helpline, 1930, as fast as you can. Our Udhaar Box customer care page gathers all of these in one list.

Should you borrow from Udhaar Box?

It could suit someone earning at least ₹10,000 a month, salaried or self-employed, who needs a small amount for a few months. You'll need PAN, Aadhaar, a selfie and a bank account that's at least 3 months old. The website says the eligibility check won't affect your credit score.

Hold back if a surprise in the price would hurt, or if you've had loans turned down lately. A new app with clashing rate pages is a risky first stop.

Apps backed by regulated lenders that cover similar amounts include mPokket, Pocketly and Stashfin. Put their Key Fact Statements next to the Udhaar Box offer before you choose. Our reviews hub lists more.

FAQ: Udhaar Box loans

Is Udhaar Box real or fake?

Udhaar Box is real. Its website and Play listing both say it's owned and operated by Moneyplus Financial Services Limited, which issues every loan. MoneyPlus lists the app on its own homepage too. The worries are about price and service, not fraud. Its rate pages contradict each other, and most recent written reviews on Play give one star.

Is Udhaar Box RBI registered?

The registration belongs to its lender. Look up Moneyplus Financial Services Limited and you'll find it at entry 4592 of RBI's register for 30 September 2026. It's filed under New Delhi and takes no deposits. Its CIN and address match what the Udhaar Box site shows. RBI's lending app directory kept failing on our side, so the app's entry there is still unchecked.

What interest rate does Udhaar Box charge?

It depends on which page you read. The website says from 10.5% a year, its FAQ says from 24%, and Play says 0% to 36%. Then there's the lender's charges schedule, which lets a digital payday loan go as high as 365% a year, flat. Fees run 2% to 10% plus GST. Only the Key Fact Statement for your loan tells you the real APR.

What is the Udhaar Box customer care number?

The number on the Udhaar Box website is +91 9818139887, with the email digitalcare@moneyplusfin.com. The same number belongs to Anup Sharma, the grievance officer for digital lending. MoneyPlus also runs a company toll-free line, 1800 258 4342, with care@moneyplusfin.com. No support hours are published, so email first and keep a copy of what you send.

Why did Udhaar Box reject me after I gave my documents?

Many reviewers report the same thing. In its replies, the developer blames the underwriting result and tells people to come back in a few days. The website says the eligibility check doesn't affect your credit score. If you think your data was misused, you can ask for deletion by emailing digitalcare@moneyplusfin.com with the subject line given on its deletion page.

Can I close an Udhaar Box loan early or cancel it?

The website and MoneyPlus's charges schedule say foreclosure is free, while the Play listing says 4% of principal plus GST. Check your KFS to see which applies. MoneyPlus's interest rate policy also promises a way out during RBI's cooling-off period for digital loans. Get support to email you the payoff figure, then pay through the mandate or app.

What should I do if an Udhaar Box agent harasses me?

MoneyPlus's fair practice code says recovery must be courteous and free of intimidation. Record the date, time and number of each abusive call. Email digitalcare@moneyplusfin.com and care@moneyplusfin.com with the details. If 30 days pass with no fix, complain to the RBI Integrated Ombudsman. If someone takes money from you by fraud, call 1930.

Is Udhaar Box the same as Udhaar Book?

No. Udhaar Book and similar Udhaar App listings are bookkeeping tools for tracking credit, and they don't lend. RBL Bank's "Udhaar" is a separate shopkeeper credit product. The lending app is "Udhaar Box - Personal Loan App" from MONEYPLUS FINANCIAL SERVICES LIMITED, package com.udhaarbox.loan. Check that developer name before you install anything.

Sources: the Udhaar Box website and account deletion page, October 2026; the Udhaar Box Google Play listing, data safety panel and written reviews, October 2026; MoneyPlus Financial Services' website, schedule of charges, interest rate policy, grievance policy and fair practice code, read October 2026; RBI's NBFC register showing 30 September 2026; RBI Digital Lending Directions, 2025.

How this article was produced

Written by Pankaj Pandey, edited by BankCreds Content & SEO Team, and fact-checked for accuracy by BankCreds Financial Experts. Loan and credit terms change often — figures are indicative and you should confirm current rates and charges with the lender before applying.

Read our editorial policy, how we make money, and corrections policy.

Disclaimer: BankCreds.com is a loan comparison platform and does not directly lend, disburse, or provide any financial products. We aggregate and display loan offers from RBI-registered banks and NBFCs to help you make an informed decision. All loan applications are processed directly by the respective lender. Interest rates, charges, eligibility, and terms shown are indicative and subject to the lender's final assessment. Please read the lender's terms and conditions carefully before applying.