HDFC Bank INFINIA Metal vs Axis Bank Magnus: Points, Miles, Access
Axis Bank Magnus earns far more points for people who spend over ₹1.5 lakh a month, because every ₹200 above that line earns 35 points, and anyone with ₹24 lakh of yearly income can apply. HDFC Bank's INFINIA Metal Edition is invite only, but it waives its ₹12,500 fee at ₹10 lakh of spends instead of ₹25 lakh, charges 1.99% a month interest instead of 3%, and a Business Standard report puts its points at ₹1 each on SmartBuy flights and hotels.
In short
Magnus is the card to apply for if you spend well over ₹1.5 lakh a month and transfer points to airline partners; INFINIA Metal is the better card if HDFC invites you and you spend ₹10 lakh to ₹25 lakh a year, where its fee is waived and Magnus's is not.
Best for
- Very heavy spenders above ₹2 lakh a month who move points to airlines and hotels (Magnus)
- Invited HDFC customers spending ₹10 lakh or more a year who redeem on SmartBuy (INFINIA Metal)
- Families who want unlimited lounges for add-on cardholders too (INFINIA Metal)
Skip it if
- You spend under ₹1 lakh a month, so neither fee is easy to earn back
- You want plain cashback rather than points and transfers
- Most of your spend is rent, fuel, utilities or insurance
Highlights
- Fees: ₹12,500 + GST on both
- Fee waivers: ₹10 lakh (INFINIA Metal) against ₹25 lakh of eligible spends (Magnus)
- Earn: 5 points per ₹150 against 12 per ₹200, rising to 35 per ₹200 above ₹1.5 lakh a month
- Interest: 1.99% a month against 3% a month
- Access: invite only against open application at ₹24 lakh of income
Side by side
| Term | INFINIA Metal Edition Credit Card | Axis Bank Magnus Credit Card |
|---|---|---|
| Bank | HDFC Bank | Axis Bank |
| Joining fee | ₹12,500 + GST | ₹12,500 + GST |
| Annual fee and waiver | ₹12,500 + GST. Spend ₹10 lakh or more in a year before the renewal date to get the renewal fee waived. | ₹12,500 + GST. Annual fee waived on eligible spends of INR 25 lakh in the preceding card anniversary year (rent, wallet, utilities, government, EMI conversions, cash, reversals, fees, insurance, gold/jewellery, fuel and gift cards excluded). Lifetime free (Nil fees) for customers with a Burgundy Salary Account opened on or after 1 July 2026 with net monthly salary of INR 2 lakh or more. |
| Base reward | 5 Reward Points for every ₹150 spent | 12 EDGE REWARD Points per INR 200 on eligible spends up to INR 1.5 lakh in a... |
| Best category | SmartBuy: Up to 10X Reward Points (limited-period programme governed by SmartBuy T&C) | Monthly eligible spends above INR 1.5 lakh: 35 EDGE REWARD Points per INR 200 |
| Lounges | Domestic: Unlimited complimentary lounge access in India for primary and add-on cardholders International: Unlimited lounge access outside India through Priority Pass for primary and add-on cardholders | Domestic: Unlimited complimentary visits at select domestic airport lounges (card, not Priority Pass, from 28 Aug 2026); 4 guest visits a calendar year International: Unlimited complimentary visits with Priority Pass, plus 4 guest visits per year |
| Forex markup | 2% of the amount | 2% of the amount |
| Network | Not stated by the bank | Mastercard |
| Published minimum income | Not published by the bank | ₹2,00,000 a month |
| Status | Taking applications | Taking applications |
| Add-on card fee | Nil | Nil |
| Earned as | Reward Points | EDGE REWARD Points |
| Higher-reward categories |
|
|
| No rewards on |
|
|
| Value of a point |
|
|
| Redemption fee | No processing fee for catalogue or cashback redemptions on Infinia / Infinia (Metal Edition) | INR 99 per redemption on the EDGE REWARDS portal; INR 199 per transfer to partner programmes (stated on other Axis card pages) |
| Expiry | Reward points valid for 3 years from accumulation | EDGE REWARD Points expire 3 years from allotment, or after 365 days without account activity; forfeiture 30 days after closure or MAD overdue 90+ days. |
| Welcome benefits |
|
|
| Milestone benefits |
| None published |
| Fuel surcharge waiver | 1% fuel surcharge waiver on transactions of at least ₹400; maximum waiver ₹1,000 per statement cycle | 1% fuel surcharge waiver on transactions of INR 400 to INR 4,000; capped at INR 400 per month |
| Insurance cover | HDFC ERGO group policy (23 Jul 2026 to 22 Jul 2027) for 'Super Premium' cards: air accident USD 125,000, emergency medical abroad USD 18,750, card liability ₹9,00,000, credit shield ₹9,00,000. The document does not list which cards count as 'Super Premium'. | Purchase protection and lost card liability covers mentioned; amounts not stated on the page |
| Interest on unpaid balances | Up to 1.99% a month (23.88% a year) | Up to 3% a month (42.58% a year) |
| Late payment fee | MITC late payment table excludes Infinia (Metal edition); the late fee for this card is not stated. | Nil if total payment due is up to INR 500; INR 500 for INR 501 to 5,000; INR 750 for INR 5,001 to 10,000; INR 1,200 for INR 10,001 to 50,000; INR 1,300 if greater than INR 50,000; additional INR 100 if Minimum Amount Due is missed for two consecutive cycles, every cycle until MAD is cleared (MITC; INR 1,300 slab effective 28 Aug 2026) |
| Cash withdrawal | MITC cash advance fee (2.5% or ₹500) excludes Infinia and Infinia Metal; fee for this card not stated. Finance charges apply from the date of withdrawal. | No cash withdrawal fee; interest at 3.0% per month (42.58% a year) from the date of withdrawal |
| Age (salaried) | Not published by the bank | 18 to 70 years |
| Income (salaried) | Not published by the bank | Net salary of INR 24 lakh per annum |
| Income (self-employed) | Not published by the bank | Income tax return filed for net annual income of INR 24 lakh |
| Documents | Not published by the bank |
|
| Last verified | 5 November 2026 | 5 November 2026 |
Two super-premium cards: one you apply for, one you're invited to
HDFC Bank's INFINIA Metal Edition and the Axis Bank Magnus Credit Card both charges ₹12,500 plus GST a year, both give unlimited lounge access in India and abroad, and both carry a 2% forex markup. After that they split. INFINIA Metal is by invitation only: HDFC assesses you itself and tells you personally if you qualify, and there's no public form. Magnus is open to anyone aged 18 to 70 with a net salary or ITR of ₹24 lakh a year.
Who each card is for
INFINIA Metal suits an existing HDFC customer who spends steadily, around ₹1 lakh a month or more, books flights and hotels through HDFC's SmartBuy portal, and values low interest and unlimited lounges for the whole family. Its earn is flat, 5 Reward Points per ₹150 on everything what is eligible.
Magnus suits the very heavy spender. It pays 12 EDGE REWARD Points per ₹200 on the first ₹1.5 lakh of a calendar month and 35 per ₹200 above that, so the card come alive only once your monthly bill is well past ₹1.5 lakh. Its points work best when moved to airline and hotel partners, at 5 points for 2 miles.
Verdict in two sentences
Magnus earns many more points and miles for people spending above roughly ₹2 lakh a month, and you can actually apply for it. INFINIA Metal is the better deal between ₹10 lakh and ₹25 lakh of yearly spends, where its fee is waived and Magnus's isn't, and for anyone who might carry a balance.
Recent changes
- INFINIA Metal: insurance points capped at 10,000 a month from 1 July 2025; SmartBuy brand vouchers limited to 3,000 accelerated points a month from 1 July 2026, inside the 15,000 monthly SmartBuy cap; HDFC's 15 May 2026 revision left the earn rate alone but set the metal card reissue fee at ₹3,500.
- Magnus: from 20 June 2025 the 35-point rate apply only up to your credit limit plus ₹1.5 lakh a month; from 1 July 2026 Burgundy Salary customers with a net salary of ₹2 lakh or more can get it lifetime free, without welcome benefits; from 28 August 2026 domestic lounges take the card rather than Priority Pass; and from 15 November 2026 linked memberships renew only with your consent.
Both cards are active. One just has a door you can knock on, and the other don't.
Fees and charges: same price, very different terms
| Charge | HDFC INFINIA Metal | Axis Bank Magnus |
|---|---|---|
| Joining and annual fee | ₹12,500 + GST each | ₹12,500 + GST each |
| Fee waiver | ₹10 lakh of spends in the 12 months before renewal | ₹25 lakh of eligible spends in the preceding card year |
| Fee-linked benefit | 12,500 Reward Points on fee payment and activation, at joining and renewal | One ₹12,500 voucher (Luxe, The Postcard Hotels or Yatra), welcome only |
| Add-on card | Free | Free |
| Interest | 1.99% a month (23.88% a year) | 3% a month (42.58% a year) |
| Cash withdrawal fee | Not stated; HDFC's MITC table excludes this card | None; interest from the day of withdrawal |
| Over-limit fee | Not charged | 2.5%, minimum ₹500 |
| Forex markup | 2% | 2% |
| Rupee payments abroad | 1.75% | 2% |
GST makes each fee ₹14,750 (₹12,500 plus ₹2,250). The waiver is where they differ most. HDFC drops INFINIA Metal's renewal fee at ₹10 lakh a year, about ₹83,333 a month (₹10,00,000 divided by 12). Axis asks for ₹25 lakh of eligible spends, about ₹2,08,333 a month (₹25,00,000 divided by 12), and doesn't count rent, wallet, utilities, government, insurance, gold and jewellery, fuel, gift cards or EMI conversions toward it. A household spending ₹1.2 lakh a month gets INFINIA Metal free and pay ₹14,750 for Magnus every year.
Both hand some value back on the fee. INFINIA Metal credits 12,500 Reward Points on fee payment and activation, at joining and at renewal, though a year where the fee is waived may not bring them, because they are tied to the fee being realised. Magnus gives one ₹12,500 voucher in the first year only, and none on the lifetime-free Burgundy Salary variant. Older INFINIA cards sourced before 18 October 2021 still pays ₹10,000 and are waived at ₹8 lakh.
Interest and the penalty fees
For anyone who sometimes revolve a balance, INFINIA Metal's 1.99% a month is far kinder than the 3% on Magnus. ₹1 lakh carried for 30 days costs about ₹1,963 on INFINIA Metal (30 times ₹1,00,000 times 23.88%, divided by 365) against about ₹3,500 on Magnus (the same sum at 42.58%).
HDFC's MITC leaves INFINIA Metal out of its late-fee and cash-advance tables, so neither fee is stated for this card, and it charges no over-limit fee. Magnus charges no cash withdrawal fee, but its late fees follow the usual Axis slabs, ₹1,200 for a due of ₹10,001 to ₹50,000 and ₹1,300 above, and over-limit costs 2.5% with a ₹500 minimum. Both take 1% on rent and on app-paid education; HDFC caps its rent fee at ₹4,999 a transaction, and Axis also charge 1% on utilities from ₹25,000 a cycle.
Rewards: a flat 5 per ₹150 against a two-speed 12 and 35
How each card earns
- INFINIA Metal: 5 Reward Points per ₹150, counted on whole ₹150 steps. SmartBuy adds up to 10X, capped at 15,000 accelerated points a month, of which brand vouchers can take only 3,000 since 1 July 2026. Grocery points are capped at 2,000 a month, utilities and telecom at 2,000 each, insurance at 10,000 and UPI at 500, and a statement cycle tops out at 2,00,000 points. Points last 3 years.
- Magnus: 12 EDGE REWARD Points per ₹200 on eligible spends up to ₹1.5 lakh in a calendar month, then 35 per ₹200 above that, up to your credit limit plus ₹1.5 lakh, and 12 again beyond it. Travel EDGE bookings earns 5X, which Axis's 2023 terms set at 60 points per ₹200 on up to ₹2 lakh a month. Utilities, telecom, wallet, government, insurance, gold, fuel, gift cards and tolls are excluded, and Axis's 2025 revision caps rent at ₹50,000 a month. Points lasts 3 years, or less after 365 days of no activity.
What the points are worth
Neither bank publish a clear rupee value in the documents we hold, which makes this harder than it should be. For INFINIA Metal, a Business Standard report from February 2026, citing HDFC's website, puts a point at ₹1 on SmartBuy flights and hotels and on Apple products and Tanishq vouchers; HDFC's own page was cut off when we read it. At ₹1, 5 points per ₹150 is about 3.33% back (₹5 on ₹150). Flight, hotel and airmiles redemptions are capped at 1,50,000 points a month and at 70% of a booking. The same report spoke of limits of five redemptions a month and ₹2 lakh per statement cycle, which we could not confirm in any HDFC document.
For Magnus, Axis gives no catalogue value at all. What it states is the transfer rate: 5 EDGE REWARD Points become 2 partner miles across 20 travel partners, with yearly caps of 1 lakh points to Group A partners and 4 lakh to Group B. INFINIA Metal also transfers, at 2 points for 1 loyalty point to Turkish Miles, Accor and Avianca LifeMiles. So the fairest common yardstick are partner miles: about 1.67 per ₹100 on INFINIA Metal (2.5 per ₹150), and on Magnus 2.4 per ₹100 below ₹1.5 lakh a month (4.8 per ₹200) and 7 per ₹100 above it (14 per ₹200).
Three spenders, both cards
Fuel and utilities is in the mix to show what earns nothing on Magnus. We assume a credit limit big enough for the 35-point band, and we leave INFINIA's renewal points out whenever its fee is waived.
| Spender | Monthly mix | INFINIA Metal points a year | Magnus points a year | Partner miles a year (INFINIA, Magnus) | Fee that year (INFINIA, Magnus) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ₹1,20,000 a month | Shopping and dining ₹90,000, groceries ₹12,000, utilities ₹6,000, fuel ₹12,000 | 43,200 | 73,440 | 21,600 and 29,376 | Waived and ₹14,750 |
| ₹2,40,000 a month | Shopping and dining ₹1,50,000, travel ₹48,000, groceries ₹24,000, utilities ₹12,000, fuel ₹6,000 | 93,600 | 2,59,200 | 46,800 and 1,03,680 | Waived and waived |
| ₹4,00,000 a month | Shopping and dining ₹2,40,000, travel ₹1,20,000, groceries ₹24,000, utilities ₹12,000, fuel ₹4,000 | 1,58,400 | 5,99,400 | 79,200 and 2,00,000 (transfer cap) | Waived and waived |
₹1,20,000 a month. INFINIA Metal: ₹1,08,000 of shopping, groceries and utilities earn 3,600 points (₹1,08,000 divided by 150, times 5), so 43,200 a year, which at the reported ₹1 is ₹43,200 of SmartBuy travel. ₹14,40,000 a year (₹1,20,000 times 12) clear the ₹10 lakh waiver. Magnus: only ₹1,02,000 is eligible because utilities and fuel earn nothing, giving 6,120 points a month (₹1,02,000 divided by 200, times 12) and 73,440 a year, or 29,376 miles (73,440 times 2, divided by 5). Eligible spends of ₹12,24,000 are far below ₹25 lakh, so the ₹14,750 fee stays, and those miles would need to be worth about 50 paise each (₹14,750 divided by 29,376) just to cover it.
₹2,40,000 a month. INFINIA Metal: ₹2,34,000 of eligible spend earns 7,800 points a month (₹2,34,000 divided by 150, times 5) and 93,600 a year, or 46,800 miles at 2 points a mile. Magnus: ₹2,22,000 is eligible; the first ₹1,50,000 earns 9,000 points (12 per ₹200) and the next ₹72,000 earns 12,600 at 35 per ₹200, so 21,600 a month and 2,59,200 a year, which is 1,03,680 miles (2,59,200 times 2, divided by 5). Eligible spends of ₹26,64,000 (₹2,22,000 times 12) pass the ₹25 lakh mark, so both fees are waived, and Magnus give more than twice the miles.
₹4,00,000 a month. INFINIA Metal: ₹3,96,000 of eligible spend earn 13,200 points a month (₹3,96,000 divided by 150, times 5), 1,58,400 a year, or 79,200 miles. Magnus: of ₹3,84,000 eligible, ₹1,50,000 earns 9,000 and ₹2,34,000 earns 40,950 at the 35-point rate, for 49,950 a month and 5,99,400 a year. That runs into the transfer caps, because 1 lakh plus 4 lakh points is the most you can move in a calendar year, which is 2,00,000 miles, leaving about 99,400 points a year (5,99,400 less 5,00,000) for Axis's catalogue at a value it doesn't publish. This spender also need a credit limit of at least ₹2,34,000 for the 35-point band to cover all of it.
Lounges, forex, fuel and the travel extras
Lounge access
Both are unlimited, but not in the same way. INFINIA Metal gives unlimited lounge access in India and unlimited Priority Pass visits abroad to the primary cardholder and every add-on cardholder, with no spend condition stated. Magnus gives unlimited visits at select domestic lounges using the card itself, since Priority Pass stopped working at Indian domestic lounges from 28 August 2026, and unlimited Priority Pass visits abroad, with 4 guest visits a year on each. Its domestic access needs ₹50,000 of spends in the previous 3 calendar months, and Magnus are not on Axis's list of cards exempt from that rule.
Spending abroad
Both charge a 2% markup on foreign currency spends. On ₹2 lakh spent abroad that is ₹4,000 plus ₹720 of GST, or ₹4,720, on either card. INFINIA Metal's 1.75% fee on rupee payments at overseas merchants is slightly lower than the 2% on Magnus, a small thing but it add up for frequent travellers.
Fuel
INFINIA Metal waives the 1% surcharge on fuel transactions of ₹400 or more, up to ₹1,000 a statement cycle. Magnus waives it on ₹400 to ₹4,000, up to ₹400 a month. For a car owner filling ₹5,000 at a time, only the INFINIA waiver work.
Insurance and other extras
- INFINIA Metal: unlimited golf games and lessons at select courses, a 24x7 concierge, a first-year Club Marriott membership and 3 nights for the price of 2 at ITC hotels. HDFC's group insurance policy lists covers for its "Super Premium" cards without saying which cards those are, so we credit INFINIA Metal with no insurance.
- Magnus: the card page mention purchase protection and lost card liability, without amounts. Axis withdrew Magnus's 24x7 concierge, BookMyShow offer and airport meet-and-assist services on 20 April 2024.
- Network: Magnus runs on Mastercard; HDFC doesn't state INFINIA Metal's network in the pages we read.
Eligibility: an invitation against an income bar
| Rule | HDFC INFINIA Metal | Axis Bank Magnus |
|---|---|---|
| How you get it | By invitation only; HDFC informs you personally if you qualify | Open application online, in the Axis Mobile app or at a branch |
| Age | Not published | 18 to 70 |
| Income | Not published | Net salary of ₹24 lakh a year, or ITR for ₹24 lakh of net annual income |
| Lifetime-free route | None | Burgundy Salary Account opened on or after 1 July 2026 with a net monthly salary of ₹2 lakh or more |
| Documents | Not published | PAN or Form 60, payslip, Form 16 or ITR, and a residence proof |
This is the cleanest difference of all. You can't apply for INFINIA Metal: HDFC says it will assess your eligibility and inform you personally, and it publishes no age or income rule and no public application link. If you want this card, there is not one step you can take on a website for it. Which is simply how HDFC run this card.
Magnus publishes a clear bar, ₹24 lakh a year of net salary or ITR income, which is ₹2 lakh a month (₹24 lakh divided by 12), for residents of India aged 18 to 70. Customers who open a Burgundy Salary Account on or after 1 July 2026 and get a first net salary credit of ₹2 lakh or more can have Magnus lifetime free, minus the welcome voucher. A separate Magnus for Burgundy variant priced at ₹30,000 is a different product and not covered here.
Published criteria is a floor, not a promise. Under the RBI's 2025 card Directions the bank must assess your independent financial means and your existing limits, the decision is the issuer's alone, and a rejection must come with written reasons. Our eligibility criteria guide explains the checks in general.
Verdict: spend level and access decide it
Pick Magnus if
- you can't get an INFINIA invite but earn ₹24 lakh a year or more;
- you regularly put more than ₹2,08,333 a month on eligible categories, which both waive the fee and fill the 35-point band;
- you move points to airline and hotel partners and can live with the yearly transfer caps, which in our examples only the ₹4 lakh a month spender hit.
Pick INFINIA Metal if
- HDFC invites you and your yearly spend sits between ₹10 lakh and ₹25 lakh, where its fee is waived and Magnus's isn't;
- you redeem on SmartBuy flights and hotels, where a point is reported at ₹1;
- you sometimes revolve a balance, since 1.99% a month cost much less than 3%;
- you want unlimited lounges for add-on cardholders as well.
When neither suits
Below about ₹1 lakh a month neither fee pay for itself, and a mid-tier card such as HDFC Regalia Gold returns more for less. Compare more travel options in best travel credit cards, see how points and transfers work in our travel cards guide, and read the other super-premium match-up, Diners Club Black Metal vs Emeralde Private Metal. Both issuers' ranges are on our HDFC Bank and Axis Bank pages, and the credit cards hub has the full section.
Pros and cons
Pros
- INFINIA Metal's fee is waived at ₹10 lakh of yearly spends, against ₹25 lakh on Magnus
- INFINIA Metal charges 1.99% a month interest, against 3% on Magnus
- INFINIA Metal gives unlimited lounges in India and abroad to add-on cardholders too
- Magnus earns 35 points per ₹200 on monthly spends above ₹1.5 lakh
- Magnus is open to apply for with ₹24 lakh of yearly income and charges no cash withdrawal fee
Cons
- INFINIA Metal is invite only, with no published eligibility
- INFINIA Metal's ₹1 point value comes from a press report, not an HDFC document we could read
- Magnus needs ₹25 lakh of eligible spends to waive its ₹14,750 fee
- Magnus transfers are capped at 1 lakh points to Group A and 4 lakh to Group B partners a year
- Magnus excludes utilities, insurance, fuel and gold, and its domestic lounges need ₹50,000 of spends in 3 months
Frequently asked questions
Which is better, HDFC Infinia Metal or Axis Magnus?
How do the Infinia Metal and Magnus annual fees compare?
What is an Infinia point or a Magnus point worth?
Can I apply for HDFC Infinia Metal the way I can for Axis Magnus?
Do Infinia Metal and Magnus give unlimited lounge access?
What changed on Axis Magnus in 2025 and 2026?
Related
- HDFC Bank INFINIA Metal Edition Review: 5 Points per ₹150, Invite Only
- Axis Bank Magnus Credit Card Review: Big Points Only Above ₹1.5 Lakh
- Best Travel Credit Cards in India 2026: Eight Cards Worked Out in Rupees
- HDFC Diners Club Black Metal vs ICICI Emeralde Private Metal: Who Pays More
- Travel Credit Cards Explained: Miles, Hotel Points and Forex Costs
Sources
- HDFC Bank: Part I Key Fact Statement cum Most Important Terms and Conditions (MITC), English, Version 4.18; Rewards Points Program - Terms and Conditions (Infinia); Infinia Credit Card Fees & Charges; Infinia Credit Card Fees & Charges (FAQ); Infinia Credit Card Eligibility (FAQ)
- Axis Bank: Most Important Terms and Conditions (MITC), PDF dated 8 October 2026; Key Fact Sheet (schedule of charges), last updated 8 October 2026; Revision of Axis Bank Magnus Credit Card Terms & Conditions (effective 1 September 2023); Revision of MAGNUS Credit Card Terms and Conditions (effective 20 June 2025); Revision of Axis Bank MAGNUS Credit Card Terms & Conditions (effective 20 April 2024)
Last verified: 5 November 2026
Written by Pankaj Pandey, reviewed by BankCreds Financial Experts
BankCreds does not sell cards or take applications. Fees and rewards change; the bank's own terms on the day you apply are what count, and approval is the bank's decision.