ICICI Bank Platinum Chip Credit Card Review: No Fee, 2 Points per ₹100

The ICICI Bank Platinum Chip Credit Card has no joining or annual fee and earns 2 reward points per ₹100, or 1 per ₹100 on utilities and insurance. It asks for a monthly income of ₹20,000, but it has no lounge, welcome gift or milestone, and ICICI does not publish what a point is worth.

Abhishek Kumar By Abhishek Kumar · Content Writer Updated 5 November 2026 Reviewed by BankCreds Financial Experts

Key facts

Joining fee
Nil
Annual fee
Nil
Base reward
2 reward points per ₹100 on retail spend
Best category
No higher-reward category published
Lounge
Domestic: None stated International: None stated
Forex markup
3.5% of the amount
Network
Not stated by the bank
Apply on ICICI Bank's site

Opens the bank's own page for this card. Approval and the credit limit are the bank's decision.

In short

A sensible no-fee first or backup card for people earning ₹20,000 a month, as long as you treat the points as a small bonus rather than a reason to apply.

Best for

  • First-time applicants who want a card with no fee to keep for years
  • People who want a free second card for HPCL fuel and everyday bills
  • Anyone building a credit history without paying for perks

Skip it if

  • You want to know what your reward points are worth
  • You want lounge access, welcome vouchers or milestones
  • You spend abroad often and mind a 3.5% markup

Highlights

  • No joining or annual fee
  • 2 reward points per ₹100 on retail spends
  • 1% fuel surcharge waiver at HPCL on ₹400 to ₹4,000
  • Monthly income of ₹20,000 for salaried and self-employed
  • Points valid 3 years; ₹99 plus GST per redemption

Platinum Chip in plain terms

Platinum Chip is ICICI Bank's most basic card. It cost nothing to join and nothing to keep, earns a flat 2 points per ₹100 on most purchases, and leave out the extras that make other cards expensive. The card is active and ICICI is accepting applications.

ICICI's MITC says it plainly: cards with no joining or annual fee get no joining or annual benefits. So there's no welcome voucher, no milestone points, no lounge and no insurance stated. What you gets is a free credit line, a small reward on spends and a 1% fuel surcharge waiver at HPCL pumps. One detail for old customers: cards sourced back when Platinum Chip carried a ₹99 joining and annual fee keeps paying that ₹99. New cards are free.

What we couldn't confirm

  • The network. ICICI's card page don't name Visa, Mastercard or RuPay, and Platinum Chip is not on ICICI's list of RuPay cards for UPI (Sapphiro, Rubyx, Coral, HPCL Super Saver and MakeMyTrip), so don't plan on UPI with this one.
  • The value of a point. ICICI's current pages give no rupee figure for its reward points.

Changes from 2024 to 2026

  • 5 February 2024: rent and e-wallet loads stopped to earn points, and government payments started counting as utility.
  • 15 November 2024: interest set at 3.75% a month; 1% fees on fuel above ₹10,000, utility above ₹50,000 and education through apps; new late fee slabs; a ₹199 add-on fee; per-cycle caps on utility, insurance and grocery points.
  • 15 January 2026: the currency conversion fee went to 3.5% from 1%; new fees on transport, gaming and wallet loads; ₹150 for paying the bill in cash at a branch.
  • 1 February 2026: transport spends counted for points capped at ₹10,000 a cycle.
  • 1 March 2026: a new formula for the Minimum Amount Due.
  • From 11 December 2026: card replacement goes up to ₹300 from ₹200.

Frequently asked questions

Is the ICICI Platinum Chip Credit Card lifetime free?
New Platinum Chip cards have no joining fee and no annual fee, with no spend condition. Cards sourced earlier with a ₹99 joining and annual fee stay on that fee, plus GST. Extras still cost money: ₹199 a year for an add-on card and ₹99 plus GST for each points redemption.
What is an ICICI Platinum Chip reward point worth?
ICICI's current pages do not publish a rupee value for Platinum Chip points. You earn 2 points per ₹100 on retail spends and 1 per ₹100 on utility and insurance, and redeem them in the ICICI Bank Rewards catalogue for ₹99 plus GST each time. Points stay valid for 3 years and lapse if the card is closed.
What is the eligibility for the ICICI Platinum Chip card?
You should be an Indian citizen aged 21 to 65. Salaried applicants need a monthly income of ₹20,000, and self-employed applicants at least ₹20,000 a month. Keep identity, address and income proof ready. ICICI decides every application on your income, existing limits and credit history, and must give written reasons if it declines.
Does ICICI Platinum Chip give fuel or lounge benefits?
There is no airport lounge access. The card gives a 1% fuel surcharge waiver on HPCL fuel transactions of ₹400 to ₹4,000, with waiver-eligible spends capped at ₹50,000 per statement cycle, but fuel earns no reward points. Any fuel transaction above ₹10,000 attracts a 1% fee.
What changed on the ICICI Platinum Chip card in 2026?
From 15 January 2026 the fee on rupee payments abroad rose to 3.5% from 1%, and new fees started on transport above ₹50,000, skill-based gaming and wallet loads of ₹5,000 or more. Since 1 February 2026 transport spends counting for points are capped at ₹10,000 a cycle. Card replacement rises to ₹300 from 11 December 2026.
Can I use ICICI Platinum Chip on UPI?
We could not confirm it. ICICI does not state the card's network, and its list of RuPay credit cards that work on UPI names Sapphiro, Rubyx, Coral, HPCL Super Saver and MakeMyTrip, not Platinum Chip. If UPI on credit matters to you, the RuPay version of the Coral card is the ICICI option to consider.

Sources

  • ICICI Bank Limited: Most Important Terms and Conditions (MITC), credit cards; Platinum Chip Credit Card; ICICI Bank Customer Care

Last verified: 5 November 2026

Written by Abhishek Kumar, reviewed by BankCreds Financial Experts

BankCreds does not sell cards or take applications. Fees and rewards change; the bank's own terms on the day you apply are what count, and approval is the bank's decision.

Disclaimer: BankCreds.com is a loan comparison platform and does not directly lend, disburse, or provide any financial products. We aggregate and display loan offers from RBI-registered banks and NBFCs to help you make an informed decision. All loan applications are processed directly by the respective lender. Interest rates, charges, eligibility, and terms shown are indicative and subject to the lender's final assessment. Please read the lender's terms and conditions carefully before applying.