ICICI Bank Instant Platinum Credit Card Review: Free Card on a ₹50,000 FD
The ICICI Bank Instant Platinum Credit Card is a no-fee card issued against an ICICI Bank fixed deposit of at least ₹50,000, kept for 180 days or more. Your limit is 90% of the deposit, between ₹45,000 and ₹5 lakh, and the card earns 2 reward points per ₹100, though ICICI does not publish what a point is worth.
Key facts
- Joining fee
- Nil
- Annual fee
- Nil
- Base reward
- 2 ICICI Bank Reward Points per ₹100 spent on all purchases except fuel...
- Best category
- No higher-reward category published
- Lounge
- Domestic: None stated International: None stated
- Forex markup
- 3.5% of the amount
- Network
- Not stated by the bank
Opens the bank's own page for this card. Approval and the credit limit are the bank's decision.
In short
A clean, no-fee way for an ICICI depositor to get a sizeable secured limit, but the rewards are a sideline with no published value and ICICI's own documents disagree on the FD rules, so confirm them at the branch.
Best for
- ICICI Bank customers who can lock ₹50,000 or more in an FD for 180 days
- People who want to know their limit in advance: 90% of the deposit
- First-time users who want no annual fee to think about
Skip it if
- You can spare only ₹10,000 to ₹30,000 for a deposit
- You want rewards you can value in rupees
- You spend abroad often, where the markup is 3.5%
Highlights
- No joining or annual fee; add-on card ₹199
- Limit 90% of the FD, from ₹45,000 to ₹5 lakh
- FD of ₹50,000 or more, 180-day minimum tenure, auto-renewal
- 2 reward points per ₹100, fuel excluded
- Interest 3.75% a month (45% a year)
What the Instant Platinum card is
Instant Platinum is ICICI Bank's credit card against a fixed deposit. You keep an FD of at least ₹50,000 with ICICI, the bank mark a lien on it, and you get a limit of 90% of the deposit. So ₹50,000 gives ₹45,000, which is also the smallest limit on offer, and ₹1,00,000 gives ₹90,000 (90% of ₹1,00,000). The limit tops out at ₹5 lakh.
There's no joining fee and no annual fee, an add-on card cost ₹199 plus GST, and ICICI allows only one secured card per customer. It suits people who have savings with ICICI but no income papers or credit record, such as homemakers, freelancers between contracts or young adults whose family has parked money for them. The card is active and taking applications as of 5 November 2026.
Two warnings before you open the FD. ICICI's own papers disagree: the FD card page and the general terms say a ₹50,000 minimum and a 90% limit, while the secured-card section inside the Amazon Pay card's terms says ₹20,000 and 85% (limit ₹17,000 to ₹3 lakh). We use the general terms, and you should confirm at the branch. And the product page is an old template whose rewards line go back to a 2016 notice, so the earn rate isn't confirmed on a current page.
Changes from 2024 to 2026
- 15 November 2024: interest set at 3.75% a month (45% a year); 1% fees on fuel above ₹10,000, utilities above ₹50,000 and education through third-party apps; new late fee slabs; add-on fee ₹199.
- 15 January 2026: currency conversion fee up to 3.5% from 1%; 1% on transport above ₹50,000, 2% on skill-based gaming, 1% on wallet loads of ₹5,000 or more, and ₹150 for paying cash at a branch.
- 1 February 2026: transport spends counted for points capped at ₹10,000 a statement cycle. 1 March 2026: a new Minimum Amount Due calculation.
- 11 December 2026: card replacement will goes up to ₹300 from ₹200.
ICICI's wider range is on our ICICI Bank credit cards page.
Charges on the Instant Platinum card
The MITC row for this card reads nil joining fee, nil annual fee and ₹199 for an add-on. Since nothing is billed yearly, there's no waiver to chase or spend target to hit. An add-on comes to ₹234.82 with 18% GST (₹199 plus ₹35.82).
Interest is the big cost
ICICI's MITC of November 2026 sets 3.75% a month, 45% a year, for this card as for almost every other ICICI card. An older product page still says 2.49% a month; that figure are outdated and you shouldn't plan on it. ₹15,000 carried for a month costs about ₹562.50 (3.75% of ₹15,000) plus ₹101.25 GST (18% of ₹562.50), which is too much costly for borrowing what is basically your own money.
Late payment
The late fee is worked on what's still outstanding after payments made before the due date, and only if the minimum isn't paid within 3 days of the due date. The slabs:
- below ₹100 nil; ₹100 to ₹500, ₹100; ₹501 to ₹1,000, ₹500; ₹1,001 to ₹5,000, ₹600;
- ₹5,001 to ₹10,000, ₹750; ₹10,001 to ₹25,000, ₹900; ₹25,001 to ₹50,000, ₹1,100; above ₹50,000, ₹1,300.
Cash, forex and special fees
- Cash advance: 2.5% with a ₹500 minimum, plus 3.75% a month interest from the day you withdrawn.
- Over-limit: 2.5% of the excess, minimum ₹550, and only if you have opted in with explicit consent.
- Foreign currency markup 3.5%; since 15 January 2026 the same 3.5% on rupee payments converted abroad.
- Rent 1%; education through third-party apps 1%; fuel above ₹10,000, utilities above ₹50,000 and transport above ₹50,000, 1% each; wallet loads of ₹5,000 or more 1%; skill-based gaming 2%.
- Cash payment at a branch ₹150; a bounced cheque or auto-debit 2% of the total amount due, minimum ₹500; card replacement ₹200, rising to ₹300 from 11 December 2026; redemption ₹99 plus GST.
No fuel surcharge waiver is stated for this card, so the surcharge at pump stays with you, and fuel earns no points either.
Instant Platinum (FD): fees and charges
| Joining fee | Nil |
|---|---|
| Annual or renewal fee | Nil |
| Annual fee waiver | Not applicable: no joining or annual fee |
| Add-on card fee | ₹199 + GST |
| GST | Charged on top of the fees and charges listed |
| In the bank’s words | No Joining Fee; No Annual Fee (MITC row: Nil, Nil, Nil, add-on 199). Issued against an ICICI Bank Fixed Deposit. |
| Interest on unpaid balances | Up to 3.75% a month (45% a year) |
| Late payment fee | ₹0 if outstanding below ₹100; ₹100 (₹100 to ₹500); ₹500 (₹501 to ₹1,000); ₹600 (₹1,001 to ₹5,000); ₹750 (₹5,001 to ₹10,000); ₹900 (₹10,001 to ₹25,000); ₹1,100 (₹25,001 to ₹50,000); ₹1,300 (above ₹50,000). Outstanding = Total Amount Due minus payments before due date; levied if MAD unpaid after due date plus 3 days. |
| Cash withdrawal | 2.5% of amount, minimum ₹500, plus interest at 3.75% per month from the transaction date |
| Over-limit fee | 2.5% of the over-limit amount, minimum ₹550 (over-limit only with explicit consent) |
| Forex markup | 3.5% of the amount |
| Other fees |
|
Rewards: 2 points per ₹100 and not much else
The card earn 2 ICICI Bank Reward Points for every ₹100 spent on purchases other than fuel, a rate that has stood since 1 December 2016, when it was cut from 3. No points on cash advances, rent, e-wallet loads, EMI transactions, or fees and interest. Since 1 February 2026 only the first ₹10,000 of transport spends in a statement cycle counts.
ICICI does not publish what a point is worth for this card, so we can't give a percentage. Points last 3 years from issue, and each redemption carries a ₹99 handling fee plus GST, ₹116.82 in total (₹99 plus 18%). No welcome bonus is there, no milestone, no accelerated category also.
The one extra is a movie offer on the older product page: 25% off, up to ₹100, on at least two tickets booked on BookMyShow, up to twice a month. Used fully that's ₹200 a month (₹100 twice) and ₹2,400 a year (₹200 times 12). As it sits on the old page, check it is still running before you count on.
Three spenders, worked out
Points are counted, not valued, because ICICI gives no rupee rate.
- Minimum FD, light use. ₹50,000 in the FD, so a ₹45,000 limit. ₹8,000 a month: ₹7,000 on groceries, food delivery and phone bills, ₹1,000 on petrol. The ₹7,000 is 70 lots of ₹100 at 2 points, 140 points a month and 1,680 a year (140 times 12); petrol earn nothing. One BookMyShow booking a month saves up to ₹1,200 a year (₹100 times 12).
- Mid-size FD, everyday use. ₹1,00,000 FD, ₹90,000 limit. ₹25,000 a month: ₹18,000 on shopping, dining and bills (180 lots times 2, so 360 points), ₹4,000 on cabs and metro (40 lots times 2, so 80 points, under the ₹10,000 cap) and ₹3,000 on fuel (nothing). Total 440 a month (360 plus 80), 5,280 a year (440 times 12). Using the movie offer twice a month adds ₹2,400 in discounts.
- Large FD, heavy use. ₹3,00,000 FD, ₹2,70,000 limit (90% of ₹3,00,000). ₹80,000 a month: ₹50,000 on shopping, dining and bills gives 1,000 points (500 lots times 2). ₹15,000 on cabs, trains and airport transfers counts only up to ₹10,000, so 200 points (100 lots times 2), not 300. ₹15,000 of rent earns none and costs ₹150 (1% of ₹15,000) plus ₹27 GST. That's 1,200 points a month (1,000 plus 200), 14,400 a year (1,200 times 12), against ₹2,124 a year in rent fees (₹150 plus ₹27 is ₹177, times 12).
| Spender | FD and limit | Monthly spend | Points a month | Points a year | Annual fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Light | ₹50,000 and ₹45,000 | ₹8,000 | 140 | 1,680 | ₹0 |
| Everyday | ₹1,00,000 and ₹90,000 | ₹25,000 | 440 | 5,280 | ₹0 |
| Heavy | ₹3,00,000 and ₹2,70,000 | ₹80,000 | 1,200 | 14,400 | ₹0 |
With no fee, any value from points is a plus. Redeem in larger lots, because at ₹116.82 a time the small redemptions is eating the gain.
Instant Platinum (FD): how rewards work
| Earned as | ICICI Bank Reward Points |
|---|---|
| Base rate | 2 ICICI Bank Reward Points per ₹100 spent on all purchases except fuel (since Dec 01, 2016) |
| Minimum spend rules | None stated |
| No rewards on |
|
| Lower rewards on |
|
| Value of a point |
|
| Redemption fee | ₹99 + GST per redemption (MITC) |
| Expiry | 3 years from issuance |
| Welcome benefits | None published |
| Milestone benefits | None published |
| Lounge access | Domestic: None stated International: None stated |
| Fuel surcharge waiver | Not stated for this card |
| Insurance cover | None stated |
Getting the card: FD rules and paperwork
ICICI publishes no age or income rule for the FD card, the deposit stand in for both. What it does publish is a fairly strict set of FD conditions, taken here from the FD card page and the general credit card terms:
- A fixed deposit of at least ₹50,000 with ICICI Bank, opened for a minimum of 180 days and kept in auto-renewal mode.
- In the name of one individual. HUF, joint, minor and tax-saving FDs is not eligible.
- Limit 90% of the deposit, minimum ₹45,000 and maximum ₹5 lakh, with a lien on the FD. Anything above about ₹5,55,556 adds nothing to the limit (₹5,00,000 divided by 90%).
- One secured card per customer.
Remember about the conflict: one ICICI document mentions a ₹20,000 FD and an 85% limit. Ask the branch which rule it applies on the day, and get it in writing if you can.
How to apply
ICICI routes FD-backed cards through its iMobile app, Net Banking or a branch. KYC is the same as for your FD or savings account, so a existing customer usually have nothing new to submit. The income figures on ICICI's card listing, like ₹20,000 a month for salaried people, are for its unsecured cards, not this one.
The FD doesn't make approval automatic. Under the RBI's 2025 card Directions the bank must give a one-page Key Fact Statement with the application and a written reason if it refuses. It can't report the account to credit bureaus before you activate the card, and if you haven't activated it within 30 days it must seek your OTP consent and, without it, close the account free within seven working days. For help, see our ICICI Bank customer care page.
Instant Platinum (FD): eligibility and documents
| Age (salaried) | Not stated for the FD card |
|---|---|
| Age (self-employed) | Not stated for the FD card |
| Income (salaried) | No income criterion stated; secured by FD |
| Income (self-employed) | No income criterion stated; secured by FD |
| Other conditions | Fixed Deposit of at least ₹50,000 with ICICI Bank, minimum tenure 180 days, in auto-renewal mode, in the name of a single individual (no HUF, joint, minor or tax-saving FDs); credit limit 90% of the FD (minimum ₹45,000, maximum ₹5 lakh); lien marked on the FD; only one secured card per customer. |
| Documents |
|
| How to apply | Online on the issuer website (card page 'Apply Now' leads to buy.icici.bank.in; upload KYC and income documents), or in the iMobile app under 'Pre Approved Loans/Offers' > 'Loan & Card Offers' > Cards. Co-brand cards apply through the partner (Amazon Pay on amazon.in, MakeMyTrip app/site, Adani One site, Times Black on timesblack.com). FD-backed cards through iMobile, Net Banking or a branch. Emeralde Private Metal and 1838 Reserve are invite-only. |
| Card customer care | 1800 1080 |
These are the bank's published conditions. Meeting them does not guarantee a card: approval and the credit limit are the bank's decision.
Who should take Instant Platinum
It suits an ICICI customer with ₹50,000 or more that can sit in an FD for 180 days or longer, who want a card mainly to build a repayment record and keep a decent limit for emergencies. The 90% share is generous and, unlike some FD cards, you know the limit before you start. With no fee you can keep the card for years at no cost.
It's not for people with smaller savings, since ₹50,000 is a high entry point next to FD cards that start at ₹10,000 to ₹20,000. Reward hunters should look away too: 2 points per ₹100 with no published value is impossible to compare, and fuel earns nothing with no surcharge waiver mentioned. Travellers pay 3.5% abroad, ₹1,750 on a ₹50,000 trip (3.5% of ₹50,000) before ₹315 of GST (18% of ₹1,750).
The trade-offs
You trade a higher minimum deposit for a clear 90% limit, a large ceiling of ₹5 lakh and zero yearly cost, and you give up any real rewards and accept 3.75% a month if you ever carry a balance. Pay in full each month and the card do its main job well. When income proof arrives, switching to a unsecured card frees the FD.
Pros
- No joining or annual fee
- Limit of 90% of the FD, from ₹45,000 up to ₹5 lakh
- No income documents; KYC is the same as for your ICICI FD or savings account
- BookMyShow offer of 25% off up to ₹100, twice a month, on the older product page
- Apply through iMobile, Net Banking or a branch
Cons
- Minimum FD of ₹50,000 for at least 180 days, higher than most FD cards
- ICICI does not publish a point value, and each redemption costs ₹99 plus GST
- No points on fuel and no fuel surcharge waiver stated
- 3.75% a month interest and a 3.5% forex markup
- ICICI documents disagree on the FD minimum and limit share
- Add-on cards cost ₹199 plus GST
How it compares with other FD cards
Three cards that a person with savings but no income proof might set against the ICICI card. The table below puts fees, earn and forex side by side.
Instant Platinum or BOBCARD PRIME
BOBCARD PRIME is free as well, take a smaller ₹30,000 FD and redeems points as cashback at ₹0.20 each with no fee, so its 2 points per ₹100 are worth a known 0.4%. But it gives no points on supermarkets, fast food or rail, and doesn't publish the limit share. ICICI suits you if you want certainty on the limit; PRIME, if you want rewards which you can put value.
Instant Platinum or IDFC FIRST WOW!
IDFC FIRST's WOW! asks only ₹20,000 up front and turns the whole deposit into limit. Its 4 points per ₹200 are valued at 0.5%, and there is no forex markup at all. On nearly every line it beats the ICICI card, whose edge is only for those who already bank with ICICI and wants everything in one place.
Instant Platinum or ICICI Platinum Chip
When you can show income, ICICI's unsecured Platinum Chip keeps the same nil fees and 2 points per ₹100 without tying up an FD. It needs a monthly income of ₹20,000 and an age of 21 to 65, and adds a 1% fuel surcharge waiver on ₹400 to ₹4,000 at HPCL pumps. More secured picks are on the credit cards hub.
Instant Platinum (FD) against similar cards
| Term | ICICI Bank Instant Platinum Credit Card This card | BOBCARD PRIME | FIRST WOW! Credit Card | ICICI Bank Platinum Chip Credit Card |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank | ICICI Bank | BOBCARD | IDFC FIRST Bank | ICICI Bank |
| Joining fee | Nil | Nil | Nil | Nil |
| Annual fee and waiver | Nil | Nil | Nil | Nil |
| Base reward | 2 ICICI Bank Reward Points per ₹100 spent on all purchases except fuel... | 2 reward points per INR 100 on eligible categories (about 0.4% value) | 4 Reward Points per ₹200 spent on online, offline and international spends... (about 0.5% value) | 2 reward points per ₹100 on retail spend |
| Best category | No higher-reward category published | Flights booked via BOBCARD SmartDeal: 8 extra points per INR 100 (T&C table; 'Extra 4X rewards') | Hotel bookings via 'FIRST Rewards Gallery' in the IDFC FIRST Bank app: about 2.5% value | No higher-reward category published |
| Lounges | Domestic: None stated International: None stated | Domestic: None listed International: None listed | Domestic: None International: None | Domestic: None stated International: None stated |
| Forex markup | 3.5% of the amount | 3.5% of the amount | 0% (no markup) | 3.5% of the amount |
| Network | Not stated by the bank | RuPay | Visa | Not stated by the bank |
| Published minimum income | No income criterion stated; secured by FD | No income proof needed (card issued against FD) | No income proof required | ₹20,000 a month |
| Status | Taking applications | Taking applications | Taking applications | Taking applications |
Frequently asked questions
Does the ICICI Instant Platinum card have an annual fee?
What are the reward points on Instant Platinum worth?
How much FD do I need, and what limit will I get?
Is the Instant Platinum card good for foreign spends?
What changed on ICICI's FD card in 2026?
Is the 2.49% interest rate on the old product page still valid?
Related
- ICICI Bank Credit Cards 2026: Spend Rules, Fees and Which Card to Pick
- BOBCARD PRIME Review: Zero-Fee Card on a ₹30,000 FD, 0.4% Back
- FIRST WOW! Credit Card Review: FD-Backed, Zero Forex, Points Abroad
- ICICI Bank Platinum Chip Credit Card Review: No Fee, 2 Points per ₹100
- Secured Credit Cards Explained: FD-Backed Limits, Costs and Catches
Sources
- ICICI Bank Limited: Most Important Terms and Conditions (MITC), credit cards; Terms & Conditions Governing Credit Card facilities; ICICI Bank Instant Platinum Credit Card (key privileges); Credit Cards Against Fixed Deposit or FD Card; ICICI Bank Customer Care
Last verified: 5 November 2026
Written by Pankaj Pandey, reviewed by BankCreds Financial Experts
BankCreds does not sell cards or take applications. Fees and rewards change; the bank's own terms on the day you apply are what count, and approval is the bank's decision.