BOBCARD Easy Credit Card Review: 5X at Departmental Stores, ₹500 Fee
BOBCARD EASY is an entry-level rewards card with a ₹500 annual fee plus GST, waived on ₹35,000 of spends in a card year. It earns 5 reward points per ₹100 at departmental stores and on movies, capped at 1,000 points a statement, and 1 point per ₹100 elsewhere, with each point worth ₹0.20 as statement cashback.
Key facts
- Joining fee
- ₹500 + GST
- Annual fee
- ₹500 + GST. First-year fee waived on INR 6,000 spends in the first 60 days (else levied in the third statement); annual fee waived on INR 35,000 spends in the anniversary year
- Base reward
- 1 reward point per INR 100 on other eligible categories (about 0.2% value)
- Best category
- Departmental stores and movies: about 1% value
- Lounge
- Domestic: None listed International: None listed
- Forex markup
- 3.5% of the amount
- Network
- Not stated by the bank
Opens the bank's own page for this card. Approval and the credit limit are the bank's decision.
In short
An easy-to-keep starter card with a low waiver target, but its everyday earn of 0.2% is thin and supermarkets earn nothing.
Best for
- First-time users who can spend ₹35,000 a year to keep the card free
- Regular shoppers at departmental stores and frequent cinema-goers
- People who want points they can cash in without a redemption fee
Skip it if
- Your grocery shopping happens at supermarkets, which earn no points
- You want lounge access, insurance or a low forex mark-up
- You want more than 0.2% back on general spends
Highlights
- ₹500 plus GST, waived on ₹35,000 of spends a year
- First-year fee waived on ₹6,000 of spends in 60 days
- 5 points per ₹100 at departmental stores and movies, up to 1,000 a statement
- 1 point is worth ₹0.20 as statement cashback
- No reward redemption fee
BOBCARD Easy, explained
Easy is the starter rewards card in the BOBCARD range, issued by BOBCARD Limited, Bank of Baroda's card company. It pays in reward points rather than cashback: 1 point per ₹100 on most eligible spends, and 5 points per ₹100 at departmental stores and on movie tickets. Points turn into statement cashback at ₹0.20 each, so the base rate works out to 0.2% and the 5X categories to 1%.
The card is active. Its fee is ₹500 plus GST a year, and both waiver targets is modest: ₹6,000 in the first 60 days for year one, then ₹35,000 in each card year after that.
Things that matter most
- The 5X cap. Departmental store and movie points stop at 1,000 a statement, which you reach at ₹20,000 of such spend (1,000 points at 5 per ₹100).
- Supermarkets don't count. Only departmental stores (MCC 5311) earns 5X; supermarkets and grocery stores (MCC 5411, 5499) earn no points at all.
- Points are simple to cash. Statement cashback needs a balance of at least 1,000 points, and BOBCARD charges nothing to redeem.
Recent changes
On 1 April 2026, telecom bills (MCC 4814) started earning core points, and BOBCARD brought in 1% fees on education paid by third-party apps, on toll and bus payments and on large railway bookings. From 1 September 2026 the Easy card page offer ₹0 as the joining and first-year fee, for a limited period only. BOBCARD's KFS and MITC keeps the ₹500 joining fee, so read the ₹0 as an offer that can end, not as the card's standing price.
BOBCARD does not name the card network for Easy. RBI's September 2026 figures show 3,491,782 credit cards outstanding under Bank of Baroda, with no separate line for BOBCARD. Compare the whole range on our Bank of Baroda cards page.
Easy card fees and the waiver
As per BOBCARD's KFS and MITC the joining fee is ₹500 plus taxes, and the annual fee is ₹500 too. With 18% GST each one comes to ₹590. Add-on cards are free, up to 3 of them.
How the two waivers work
Year one: spend ₹6,000 within 60 days of getting the card and the first-year fee is waived; otherwise it gets billed in your third statement. That is ₹3,000 a month across the two months, which is not very much tough target for most people.
From the second year, spending ₹35,000 in the preceding card anniversary year waive the ₹500. Spread across 12 months, the target is about ₹2,917 a month (₹35,000 divided by 12), so anybody who use Easy as a main card should clear it.
If you apply while the ₹0 joining fee offer is running, check the fee printed on your application and welcome kit, because the offer is coming from the card page and not from the MITC.
Interest and penalty charges
Revolving balances attract 3.75% a month, 45% a year. Late fees depend on slabs of the statement balance, starting at nil below ₹100 and going up to ₹1,300 above ₹50,000; on a bill of ₹8,000, for example, the late fee is ₹750 with GST extra. Taking cash out costs 2.5% of the sum or ₹500, whichever larger, and finance charges start the same day. Going over limit costs 2.5% of the extra amount or ₹600, whichever is more.
Other charges to know
- Forex mark-up: 3.5% on foreign currency spends.
- 1% fees on rent, on wallet loads, on utility payments of ₹50,000 or more (capped at ₹3,000) and on fuel transactions of ₹10,000 or more.
- From 1 April 2026: 1% on school or college fees paid through apps like Paytm or SuperPe (maximum ₹5,000), on toll and bus spends of ₹5,000 or more, and on rail bookings of ₹30,000 or more (maximum ₹5,000).
- Cash payment fee ₹250, cheque payment fee ₹100, card replacement ₹100, duplicate bill ₹25.
The fuel surcharge waiver pays back 1% on fills between ₹400 and ₹5,000, up to ₹250 a statement cycle. GST at 18% sits on top of every fee and charge listed here.
Easy: fees and charges
| Joining fee | ₹500 + GST |
|---|---|
| Annual or renewal fee | ₹500 + GST |
| Annual fee waiver | First-year fee waived on INR 6,000 spends in the first 60 days (else levied in the third statement); annual fee waived on INR 35,000 spends in the anniversary year |
| Add-on card fee | Nil |
| GST | Charged on top of the fees and charges listed |
| In the bank’s words | Joining fee INR 500 + taxes (KFS/MITC); annual fee INR 500. Card page offers INR 0 joining/first-year fee w.e.f. 1 September 2026 (limited period). Up to 3 add-on cards free |
| Interest on unpaid balances | Up to 3.75% a month (45% a year) |
| Late payment fee | By statement balance: below INR 100 nil; INR 100-500 INR 100; INR 501-1,000 INR 400; INR 1,001-10,000 INR 750; INR 10,001-25,000 INR 950; INR 25,001-50,000 INR 1,100; above INR 50,000 INR 1,300 |
| Cash withdrawal | 2.5% of the withdrawn amount or INR 500, whichever is higher; finance charge from the date of withdrawal |
| Over-limit fee | 2.5% of the amount over the sanctioned credit limit or INR 600, whichever is higher |
| Forex markup | 3.5% of the amount |
| Other fees |
|
Easy card reward points
Earning works in three layers. The core rate is 1 reward point per ₹100 on eligible spends. Departmental stores (MCC 5311) and movies (MCC 7832) get 5 points per ₹100, up to 1,000 points a statement cycle. Flights and hotels booked through BOBCARD's SmartDeal app or portal earn extra points, 4 extra per ₹100 on flights and 10 extra on hotels as per BOBCARD's terms.
At ₹0.20 a point, the core rate is worth ₹0.20 per ₹100 (0.2%), the 5X rate ₹1 per ₹100 (1%), and the SmartDeal extras ₹0.80 and ₹2 per ₹100. The 1,000-point cap on 5X is worth ₹200 a statement.
Where you earn nothing
The excluded list is long: fuel, any transaction under ₹100, rent, wallets, government, education, hospitals, insurance, charity, transport including rail, bus and tolls, agriculture, contractors, cleaning and laundry, supermarkets and convenience stores, and fast food restaurants. UPI spends earn core points only. Even a ₹99 coffee earn nothing, since the bar is ₹100.
Redeeming, welcome and expiry
Points convert to statement cashback at 1 point for ₹0.20 once you hold 1,000 points (₹200). Pay with Rewards through TWID gives 15 paise a point, so the statement route is the better one. No redemption fee is charged. The welcome benefit is 500 points, or ₹100, when you spend ₹5,000 within 60 days of issue, and there is no milestone bonus.
Points expire 2 years after they are earned, and they lapse sooner if the card is closed, turns NPA or 90 days overdue, is settled, or sit unused for 365 days.
Three worked examples
Points are valued at ₹0.20, the statement cashback rate. Spends under ₹100 and excluded categories count as zero.
Light: ₹6,000 a month
| Spend | Amount | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Departmental store | ₹2,000 | 100 |
| Movie tickets | ₹500 | 25 |
| Online shopping and restaurants | ₹3,500 | 35 |
| Total | ₹6,000 | 160 (₹32) |
Over 12 months that is 1,920 points, worth ₹384. Year one adds the 500 welcome points, making 2,420 points or ₹484. Yearly spend is ₹72,000, above the ₹35,000 target, so the fee is waived and the whole ₹384 to ₹484 stays with you.
Typical: ₹18,000 a month
| Spend | Amount | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Departmental store | ₹6,000 | 300 |
| Movie tickets | ₹1,000 | 50 |
| Supermarket | ₹4,000 | 0 |
| Fuel | ₹2,000 | 0; ₹20 surcharge waived |
| Other eligible spends | ₹5,000 | 50 |
| Total | ₹18,000 | 400 (₹80) |
Yearly that is 4,800 points, or ₹960, plus around ₹240 of fuel surcharge refunds (₹20 a month). Look at the ₹4,000 at the supermarket: at the 5X rate it would have earned 200 more points a month, but supermarket codes earns nothing. Fee waived.
Heavy: ₹40,000 a month
| Spend | Amount | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Departmental store and movies | ₹26,000 | 1,000 (cap) |
| Other eligible spends | ₹14,000 | 140 |
| Total | ₹40,000 | 1,140 (₹228) |
5 points per ₹100 on ₹26,000 would be 1,300, but the cap holds it at 1,000. BOBCARD doesn't say whether spend past the cap still gets the core point, so it is counted as zero here. The year gives 13,680 points, worth ₹2,736, with the fee waived. Even against the ₹590 you would pay on missing the waiver, every example still come out ahead.
Easy: higher-reward categories
| Category | Rate | Cap |
|---|---|---|
| Departmental stores (MCC 5311) and movies (MCC 7832) | 5 reward points per INR 100 (5X), about 1% value | 5X points capped at 1,000 per statement cycle, ₹1,000, statement cycle |
| Flights booked via BOBCARD SmartDeal (app/portal) | 4 extra points per INR 100 (T&C table; 'Extra 4X rewards') | No cap published |
| Hotels booked via BOBCARD SmartDeal (app/portal) | 10 extra points per INR 100 (T&C table; 'Extra 10X rewards') | No cap published |
Easy: how rewards work
| Earned as | BOBCARD reward points |
|---|---|
| Base rate | 1 reward point per INR 100 on other eligible categories. About 0.2% value back |
| Minimum spend rules | Transactions below INR 100 earn no points |
| No rewards on |
|
| Lower rewards on |
|
| Value of a point |
|
| Redemption fee | No fee |
| Expiry | Reward points expire 2 years from the date earned; points also lapse on closure, NPA, 90+ days overdue, settlement, fraud, death, or if the card is unused for 365 days |
| Welcome benefits |
|
| Milestone benefits | None published |
| Lounge access | Domestic: None listed International: None listed |
| Fuel surcharge waiver | 1% waiver on fuel transactions of INR 400 to INR 5,000; maximum INR 250 per statement cycle; no points on fuel |
| Insurance cover | Not available on Easy (MITC) |
Who can get BOBCARD Easy
BOBCARD's Easy page gives an age band of 21 to 60 years and says it may relax the lower or upper limit at its own discretion. No income figure are published on the Easy page, and only Indian residents can apply.
Documents
- Recent passport-size photograph with a clear or white background.
- PAN card.
- One permanent address proof, such as the Aadhaar card (both sides), passport, voter ID, driving licence, an NREGA job card signed by a state officer, or the NPR letter.
- Salaried: bank statements for 2 months with salary credits; salary slips are accepted only alongside them.
- Self-employed: 3 months of bank statements in PDF that show business transactions.
The application
Everything happen online. Fill the digital form, sign it using Aadhaar e-sign, and complete a Video KYC call. Under RBI's KYC rules a live video KYC counts the same as meeting in person, so the process needs no branch visit.
FD-backed option and how BOBCARD decides
BOBCARD's lineup also mentions a fixed-deposit version of Easy with nil fees, but the documents we hold do not give its minimum FD or the limit as a share of the deposit. For a no-income-proof route that is documented, the BOBCARD Prime is issued against an FD of ₹30,000 or more.
As an NBFC, BOBCARD follows the RBI's 2025 credit card Directions for NBFCs. In practice that means an independent look at your financial means, a limit fixed after counting your other card limits, a Key Fact Statement before you sign, and written reasons if it say no. A credit score above 750 is generally seen as good by Experian India, but the approval stays BOBCARD's decision.
For service questions, see our Bank of Baroda customer care page.
Easy: eligibility and documents
| Age (salaried) | 21 to 60 years |
|---|---|
| Age (self-employed) | 21 to 60 years |
| Income (salaried) | Not published by the bank |
| Income (self-employed) | Not published by the bank |
| Other conditions | Indian resident; the Easy page lists no income figure; lower and higher age cut-offs at BOBCARD's discretion |
| Documents |
|
| How to apply | Online, digitally: fill the online application, e-sign using Aadhaar, then verify identity by Video KYC (per card pages). Apply links go to mycard.bobcard.tech. Bank of Baroda also offers an instant lifetime-free RuPay BOBCARD through its bob World / bob iPay app. |
| Card customer care | 1800 2090 / 1800 1210 (24x7 toll-free); Eterna and Tiara: 1800 103 1002 |
These are the bank's published conditions. Meeting them does not guarantee a card: approval and the credit limit are the bank's decision.
Is Easy worth it?
Easy is a card for keeping, not for maximising. The fee goes away at about ₹2,917 a month, the points become cashback without any fee, and the 1% on departmental stores and movies is a fair bonus for people who shops at such stores every month.
Who gains most? A first-time cardholder who wants a card that costs nothing to hold, and a family doing its monthly shopping at a departmental store rather than a supermarket. Cinema regulars can collect 5X on tickets too. If you expect to put less than ₹35,000 a year on it, the ₹590 fee will be more than the points, since even at the 1% rate ₹35,000 earns only ₹350.
Who should skip it: anyone wanting real value on everyday spends, because 0.2% is low. Supermarket grocery runs, fast food and fuel all earn zero, and there are no lounges, no insurance and a 3.5% forex mark-up.
The trade-off is a cheap, forgiving card versus a low return. It works well kept as first card to build a repayment record with the fee waived, then you can move to a stronger rewards card once spending grow. For more starter ideas see our best credit cards for beginners, or start from the credit cards hub.
Pros
- Annual fee of ₹500 plus GST is waived on ₹35,000 of spends in a card year
- First-year fee is waived on ₹6,000 of spends within 60 days
- 5 points per ₹100 at departmental stores and on movies, worth 1%
- Points convert to statement cashback at ₹0.20 each with no redemption fee
- 500 welcome points on ₹5,000 of spends within 60 days
- Up to 3 free add-on cards
Cons
- Base earn is 1 point per ₹100, only 0.2% back
- 5X points are capped at 1,000 a statement cycle
- Supermarkets, fast food, fuel and transport earn no points
- No lounge access, no insurance and a 3.5% forex mark-up
- Card network and income criterion are not published
Easy compared with other entry rewards cards
The three alternatives below sit in the same starter bracket. The table on this tab carries the figures, and the notes explain where they differs.
SBI SimplySAVE
The SimplySAVE SBI Card costs ₹499 plus taxes and reverses it on ₹1 lakh of yearly spend, a higher bar than Easy. It earns 10 points per ₹150 on dining, movies, departmental stores and groceries, up to 5,000 points a month, and at 25 paise a point that is ₹2.50 per ₹150. So it pays more on these categories and, unlike Easy, rewards supermarkets.
Kotak League Platinum
The Kotak League Platinum charges ₹499 with a ₹50,000 waiver and gives 8 points per ₹150 at departmental stores and on some travel and electronics spends. Its points are worth only 7 paise as cash or 10 paise on the catalogue, so 8 points comes to ₹0.80 per ₹150 at best. It also asks for ₹5 lakh a year of income and is sold in listed cities only.
BOBCARD Prime
The BOBCARD Prime is lifetime free and issued against a fixed deposit (₹30,000 at the least) and asks no income proof. It earns 2 points per ₹100 everywhere eligible, worth ₹0.40, but there is no any 5X categories.
Choosing
Choose Easy for the lowest spend target among the fee-paying cards here, especially if you shop at departmental stores. Choose SimplySAVE if you can spend ₹1 lakh a year and buy groceries at supermarkets, League Platinum if you clear its income bar and like PVR milestone tickets, and Prime if you have no income proof but can park an FD. For cashback in place of points, the BOBCARD Cashback pays 5% on domestic online spends.
Easy against similar cards
| Term | BOBCARD EASY This card | BOBCARD Cashback Credit Card | SimplySAVE SBI Card | BOBCARD PRIME |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank | BOBCARD | BOBCARD | SBI Card | BOBCARD |
| Joining fee | ₹500 + GST | ₹499 + GST | ₹499 + GST | Nil |
| Annual fee and waiver | ₹500 + GST. First-year fee waived on INR 6,000 spends in the first 60 days (else levied in the third statement); annual fee waived on INR 35,000 spends in the anniversary year | ₹499 + GST. No fee reversal or waiver | ₹499 + GST. Renewal Fee is reversed if annual spends for last year >= Rs. 1,00,000. | Nil |
| Base reward | 1 reward point per INR 100 on other eligible categories (about 0.2% value) | 1% cashback on domestic POS, international and other eligible spends (about 1% value) | 1 Reward Point per Rs. 150 spent on all other spends (about 0.17% value) | 2 reward points per INR 100 on eligible categories (about 0.4% value) |
| Best category | Departmental stores and movies: about 1% value | Domestic online transactions: about 5% value | Dining, movies, departmental stores, grocery and supermarkets: about 1.67% value | Flights booked via BOBCARD SmartDeal: 8 extra points per INR 100 (T&C table; 'Extra 4X rewards') |
| Lounges | Domestic: None listed International: None listed | Domestic: None listed International: None listed | Domestic: None listed on card page International: None listed on card page | Domestic: None listed International: None listed |
| Forex markup | 3.5% of the amount | 3.5% of the amount | 3.5% of the amount | 3.5% of the amount |
| Network | Not stated by the bank | Mastercard | Visa, Mastercard, RuPay | RuPay |
| Published minimum income | Not published by the bank | ₹25,000 a month | Stable income; SBI Card says the specific minimum varies by card and does not... | No income proof needed (card issued against FD) |
| Status | Taking applications | Taking applications | Taking applications | Taking applications |
Frequently asked questions
How do I get the BOBCARD Easy fee waived?
What is a BOBCARD Easy reward point worth?
Who can apply for BOBCARD Easy?
Does BOBCARD Easy offer lounge access or a low forex mark-up?
Is the BOBCARD Easy joining fee zero now?
Do grocery purchases earn 5X points on BOBCARD Easy?
Related
- Bank of Baroda Credit Cards 2026: BOBCARD Fees, Points and Offers
- BOBCARD Cashback Credit Card Review: 5% Online, Capped at ₹1,500
- SimplySAVE SBI Card Review: 10X on Groceries, Dining and Movies
- BOBCARD PRIME Review: Zero-Fee Card on a ₹30,000 FD, 0.4% Back
- Best Beginner Credit Cards in India 2026: Low Income Floors and FD Routes
Sources
- BOBCARD Limited: Key Fact Statement (KFS), dated 17 Jul 2026; BOBCARD Consolidated MITC; BOBCARD Product Features - Important Terms & Conditions (file dated 02-11-2026); BOBCARD Easy; Revision in Product Features and Charges w.e.f 1st April, 2026; BOBCARD Premier (expanded "Read more" text); BOBCARD Eterna (expanded "Read more" text)
Last verified: 5 November 2026
Written by Ramesh Kulkarni, reviewed by BankCreds Financial Experts
BankCreds does not sell cards or take applications. Fees and rewards change; the bank's own terms on the day you apply are what count, and approval is the bank's decision.