BOBCARD PRIME Review: Zero-Fee Card on a ₹30,000 FD, 0.4% Back
BOBCARD PRIME is a zero-fee credit card issued against a fixed deposit of ₹30,000 or more, with no income proof needed and an age limit of 18 to 85. It earns 2 points per ₹100, worth 0.4% as statement cashback, but supermarkets, fast food, rail, insurance and fuel earn nothing, and BOBCARD does not publish what share of the FD becomes your limit.
Key facts
- Joining fee
- Nil
- Annual fee
- Nil
- Base reward
- 2 reward points per INR 100 on eligible categories (about 0.4% value)
- Best category
- Flights booked via BOBCARD SmartDeal: 8 extra points per INR 100 (T&C table; 'Extra 4X rewards')
- Lounge
- Domestic: None listed International: None listed
- Forex markup
- 3.5% of the amount
- Network
- RuPay
Opens the bank's own page for this card. Approval and the credit limit are the bank's decision.
In short
A sensible zero-cost way to start a credit record for a Bank of Baroda depositor, provided you treat the 0.4% rewards as a bonus and get the credit limit confirmed at the branch before you commit the FD.
Best for
- Bank of Baroda depositors with ₹30,000 or more who want a card at no yearly cost
- Older applicants and others without income proof, up to age 85
- Families who want up to 3 free add-on cards
Skip it if
- Most of your spending is at supermarkets or fast-food outlets
- You need to know your exact limit before booking the FD
- You spend in foreign currency, where the markup is 3.5%
Highlights
- Zero joining and annual fee on the card page
- FD of ₹30,000 or more, no income proof
- 2 points per ₹100, cashback at ₹0.20 a point (0.4%)
- 500 welcome points on ₹5,000 of spends in 60 days
- Age 18 to 85, up to 3 free add-ons
BOBCARD PRIME at a glance
PRIME is the secured card in BOBCARD's range. BOBCARD Limited, the card company owned by Bank of Baroda, issues it against a fixed deposit of ₹30,000 or more and marks a lien on the deposit, so your savings stand behind the card rather then your salary. The card page shows no joining fee and no annual fee, and no income proof is asked.
It is meant for people who keep money with Bank of Baroda but can't show a salary slip or ITR: a retired person (the age limit runs to 85), a homemaker, or a young adult with no credit history yet. Because BOBCARD is a non-banking finance company, it works under the RBI's parallel 2025 card Directions written for NBFCs, and not by the one of banks.
Three points decide whether PRIME suits you. The rewards are modest and patchy, 0.4% back and nothing on a long list of everyday categories. The credit limit as a share of the FD is not published at all. And BOBCARD doesn't name the network; the page's UPI reward rules suggests a RuPay card that works on UPI, but that is our reading, not the issuer's statement.
Status and recent changes
PRIME is open to applications as of 5 November 2026. We found no PRIME-only change between 2024 and 2026, but three charges BOBCARD added for its cards from 1 April 2026 do apply: 1% on education fees paid through third-party apps (up to ₹5,000 a transaction), a flat 1% on toll and bus spends of ₹5,000 or more, and 1% on railway bookings of ₹30,000 or more (up to ₹5,000). The current schedule is BOBCARD's Key Fact Statement of 17 July 2026, PRIME though has no own row in it.
RBI's September 2026 table counts 34,91,782 credit cards under Bank of Baroda, the label RBI uses for this group. The full lineup is on our BOBCARD credit cards page.
Fees on PRIME: zero to hold, not zero to use
The card page lists zero joining fee and zero annual fee, and up to 3 add-on cards are free. One caution: PRIME has no row in the fee tables of BOBCARD's Key Fact Statement or its consolidated MITC, so the card page is the only published source for the zero fee. Keep the welcome kit and first statement as a proof. With no fee there's no waiver target to chase.
GST at 18% applies on every fee, interest and charge BOBCARD levy, so each rupee of charge below really costs ₹1.18 (₹1 plus 18%).
Interest
The KFS sets 3.75% a month, 45% a year, for all BOBCARD credit cards; no lower rate for secured cards is published. Interest builds up daily on what's outstanding. Leave ₹20,000 unpaid for 30 days and it come to about ₹739.73 (₹20,000 times 45%, divided by 365, times 30), plus GST, which is a lot to pay for borrowing against money already sitting in your FD.
Late payment and cash
- Late fee by statement balance: nil below ₹100; ₹100 for ₹100 to ₹500; ₹400 for ₹501 to ₹1,000; ₹750 for ₹1,001 to ₹10,000; ₹950 for ₹10,001 to ₹25,000; ₹1,100 for ₹25,001 to ₹50,000; ₹1,300 above ₹50,000.
- Cash withdrawal: 2.5% or ₹500, whichever is higher, with finance charge from the day of withdrawal. Below ₹20,000 you always pays ₹500 (₹500 is 2.5% of ₹20,000).
- Over-limit: 2.5% of the excess or ₹600, whichever higher.
- Paying the bill in cash costs ₹250 each time and by cheque ₹100. A bounced cheque or failed auto-debit is 2% of the amount, minimum ₹500.
- Card replacement ₹100, duplicate bill ₹25, charge slip retrieval ₹250. Redeeming points is free.
Category fees and forex
Rent (MCC 6513) and wallet loading carry 1% each. Utility payments of ₹50,000 or more are charged 1%, up to ₹3,000 a transaction, and fuel transactions of ₹10,000 or more 1% too. Add the three April 2026 fees and BOBCARD is charging on the very categories which it don't reward. Foreign currency spends carry a 3.5% markup, and there's no lounge access or insurance cover on PRIME.
Prime: fees and charges
| Joining fee | Nil |
|---|---|
| Annual or renewal fee | Nil |
| Annual fee waiver | Lifetime free (zero joining and annual fees) |
| Add-on card fee | Nil |
| GST | Charged on top of the fees and charges listed |
| In the bank’s words | Zero joining and annual fees; up to 3 add-on cards free |
| Interest on unpaid balances | Up to 3.75% a month (45% a year) |
| Late payment fee | By statement balance: below INR 100 nil; INR 100-500 INR 100; INR 501-1,000 INR 400; INR 1,001-10,000 INR 750; INR 10,001-25,000 INR 950; INR 25,001-50,000 INR 1,100; above INR 50,000 INR 1,300 |
| Cash withdrawal | 2.5% of the withdrawn amount or INR 500, whichever is higher; finance charge from the date of withdrawal |
| Over-limit fee | 2.5% of the amount over the sanctioned credit limit or INR 600, whichever is higher |
| Forex markup | 3.5% of the amount |
| Other fees |
|
How PRIME rewards work, and where they don't
The base rate is 2 reward points per ₹100 on eligible spends, and transactions below ₹100 earn nothing. Points turn into cashback against your statement at ₹0.20 each once you have 1,000, so 2 points on ₹100 is ₹0.40, a 0.4% return. Redemption is free, a real plus over cards that charge ₹99 a time.
The exclusion list decide the card's value more than the earn rate. No points on fuel, rent, wallets, government, education, hospitals, insurance, charity, railways, buses and tolls, supermarkets and convenience stores, fast-food restaurants (MCC 5814), agriculture, contractors, or cleaning and laundry services. For many homes that knocks out the grocery run and the train ticket both.
- UPI: core points only, no bonus.
- SmartDeal: BOBCARD's terms list PRIME at 8 extra points per ₹100 on flights and 20 extra per ₹100 on hotels booked through the BOBCARD SmartDeal app or portal, worth ₹1.60 (8 times ₹0.20) and ₹4 (20 times ₹0.20) per ₹100. The same terms also say accelerated points aren't available on PRIME, so do confirm it on the booking before relying.
- Welcome: 500 points, worth ₹100 (500 times ₹0.20), on ₹5,000 of spends within 60 days of issue.
- Expiry: 2 years from the date earned. Points also lapse on closure, at 90 or more days overdue, or if the card lie unused for 365 days.
Three spenders, worked out
Retired depositor, ₹30,000 FD, ₹6,000 a month: ₹2,500 at the supermarket, ₹2,000 on clothes and online orders, ₹1,000 at restaurants, ₹500 on fuel. The supermarket earns nothing. ₹3,000 earns (₹2,000 plus ₹1,000), 30 lots of ₹100 at 2 points, so 60 a month and 720 a year (60 times 12). The welcome lifts year one to 1,220 points (720 plus 500); redeem 1,000 for ₹200 (1,000 times ₹0.20) and carry 220 forward (1,220 minus 1,000). The fuel fill gets a ₹5 waiver (1% of ₹500).
Young earner without salary proof, ₹1,00,000 FD, ₹25,000 a month: ₹6,000 supermarket, ₹3,000 fast food, ₹10,000 online shopping and electronics, ₹3,000 at sit-down restaurants, ₹3,000 fuel. Only ₹13,000 counts (₹10,000 plus ₹3,000), 130 lots (₹13,000 divided by 100) that gives 260 points a month and 3,120 a year (260 times 12), worth ₹624 (3,120 times ₹0.20). With the welcome points, year one is 3,620 points (3,120 plus 500) and ₹724 (₹624 plus ₹100). The fuel waiver of ₹30 a month (1% of ₹3,000) sits inside the ₹250 cycle cap. Points come on only 52% of the spend (₹13,000 of ₹25,000).
Heavy spender, ₹3,00,000 FD, ₹50,000 a month plus one ₹20,000 hotel stay a year on SmartDeal: ₹35,000 on shopping, electronics and restaurants, ₹10,000 at supermarkets, ₹5,000 on fuel. The ₹35,000 is 350 lots (₹35,000 divided by 100), 700 points a month and 8,400 a year (700 times 12), ₹1,680 (8,400 times ₹0.20). The hotel adds 400 base points (200 lots times 2) and 4,000 extra (200 lots times 20), ₹880 (4,400 times ₹0.20) if the SmartDeal table holds. Year one with the welcome: 13,300 points (8,400 plus 4,400 plus 500), ₹2,660 (₹1,680 plus ₹880 plus ₹100).
| Spender | FD | Monthly spend | Points in year one | Cash value | Annual fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retired depositor | ₹30,000 | ₹6,000 | 1,220 | ₹200 redeemed, 220 points carried | ₹0 |
| Young earner | ₹1,00,000 | ₹25,000 | 3,620 | ₹724 | ₹0 |
| Heavy spender | ₹3,00,000 | ₹50,000 plus one hotel | 13,300 | ₹2,660 | ₹0 |
With no fee every rupee is upside. The catch is that BOBCARD won't say how big a limit each of these deposits buy.
Prime: higher-reward categories
| Category | Rate | Cap |
|---|---|---|
| Flights booked via BOBCARD SmartDeal (app/portal) | 8 extra points per INR 100 (T&C table; 'Extra 4X rewards') | No cap published |
| Hotels booked via BOBCARD SmartDeal (app/portal) | 20 extra points per INR 100 (T&C table; 'Extra 10X rewards') | No cap published |
Prime: how rewards work
| Earned as | BOBCARD reward points |
|---|---|
| Base rate | 2 reward points per INR 100 on eligible categories. About 0.4% value back |
| Minimum spend rules | Transactions below INR 100 earn no points |
| No rewards on |
|
| Lower rewards on |
|
| Value of a point |
|
| Redemption fee | No fee |
| Expiry | Reward points expire 2 years from the date earned; points also lapse on closure, NPA, 90+ days overdue, settlement, fraud, death, or if the card is unused for 365 days |
| Welcome benefits |
|
| Milestone benefits | None published |
| Lounge access | Domestic: None listed International: None listed |
| Fuel surcharge waiver | 1% waiver on fuel transactions of INR 400 to INR 5,000; maximum INR 250 per statement cycle |
| Insurance cover | Not available on Prime (MITC) |
Applying for PRIME against your FD
The main cardholder must be 18 to 85, add-on members above 18. No income proof is needed, salaried or self-employed, because the card rests on a fixed deposit of ₹30,000 or more with a lien. BOBCARD's page also say applicants with a delinquent CIBIL record are excluded, so an FD will not paper over a recent default.
Points to settle at the branch
- The documents include a declaration from the bank marking the lien, signed by a branch employee with an EC number, with a Finacle screenshot of the lien. That point to a Bank of Baroda FD and a branch visit, though BOBCARD doesn't say outright that the FD must be with Bank of Baroda.
- The limit as a percentage of the FD is not published. Ask for it in writing before you choose the deposit amount.
- The card page gives no FD tenure or deposit-type rules, so ask about those too.
Documents
- A recent passport-size photograph and your PAN card.
- Permanent address proof: Aadhaar, voter ID, passport, driving licence or NREGA job card.
- The bank's lien declaration with the Finacle screenshot.
BOBCARD's usual route is an online form with Aadhaar e-sign and Video KYC, but for PRIME the lien paperwork makes the branch the practical start. The decision rest with BOBCARD: under RBI rules only the issuer decides, agents just sell and service, and a refusal must come with reasons in writing. A person with no borrowing history usually shows as "NH" on a CRIF report, the gap this card is meant to fill; see our guide to cards without credit history. Helplines are on our Bank of Baroda customer care page.
Prime: eligibility and documents
| Age (salaried) | 18 to 85 years |
|---|---|
| Age (self-employed) | 18 to 85 years |
| Income (salaried) | No income proof needed (card issued against FD) |
| Income (self-employed) | No income proof needed (card issued against FD) |
| Other conditions | Fixed deposit of INR 30,000 or more with lien; guaranteed issuance except for CIBIL-delinquent customers; add-on cardholders above 18 |
| Documents |
|
| How to apply | Online, digitally: fill the online application, e-sign using Aadhaar, then verify identity by Video KYC (per card pages). Apply links go to mycard.bobcard.tech. Bank of Baroda also offers an instant lifetime-free RuPay BOBCARD through its bob World / bob iPay app. |
| Card customer care | 1800 2090 / 1800 1210 (24x7 toll-free); Eterna and Tiara: 1800 103 1002 |
These are the bank's published conditions. Meeting them does not guarantee a card: approval and the credit limit are the bank's decision.
Who PRIME suits and who should look elsewhere
PRIME make most sense for a Bank of Baroda customer who already holds an FD and wants a card that costs nothing to keep. Seniors fit well, since the age limit goes to 85 while BOBCARD's own unsecured EASY stops at 60. Parents can give up to 3 free add-ons to adult children and keep one bill.
It's a weak choice if your spending is mostly supermarket groceries, fast food, train tickets, school fees or insurance, as none of those earns a point. Anyone who needs to know the limit up front will be frustrated, and travellers pay 3.5% plus GST abroad, ₹413 on a ₹10,000 bill (3.5% of ₹10,000 is ₹350, plus ₹63 GST).
Weighing it up
The case for PRIME is simple: no fee, free redemption, a cashback value you can work out and a high age limit. The case against is a 0.4% rate with heavy exclusions plus the missing limit and network details. Treat it as a tool for building a credit record, not a rewards card, and it does that job at zero cost which is honestly quite rare thing. Pay the full bill each month, because at 45% a year the interest wipe out any points within weeks.
Pros
- Zero joining and annual fee on the card page, with up to 3 free add-on cards
- No income proof, and open from age 18 to 85
- Points redeem as statement cashback at ₹0.20 each with no redemption fee
- 500 welcome points (₹100) on ₹5,000 of spends in the first 60 days
- Fuel surcharge waiver of 1% on ₹400 to ₹5,000, up to ₹250 a cycle
Cons
- Only 0.4% back, and nothing on supermarkets, fast food, rail, insurance or fuel
- Credit limit as a share of the FD is not published
- Needs ₹30,000 or more in the FD plus a branch lien declaration
- 3.5% forex markup, with no lounge access or insurance
- Interest of 3.75% a month (45% a year) even though the card is secured
- 1,000-point minimum before you can redeem
PRIME against other FD and entry cards
Two other no-fee secured cards and BOBCARD's own unsecured entry card make useful comparisons; the numbers sit in the table below.
PRIME or ICICI Instant Platinum
Both are free. ICICI Bank Instant Platinum needs a bigger FD, ₹50,000 for at least 180 days, but it tells you the limit: 90% of the deposit, from ₹45,000 to ₹5 lakh. It earns 2 points per ₹100 too, though ICICI publish no point value and charges ₹99 plus GST to redeem. Pick ICICI if knowing the limit matters; pick PRIME if your FD is under ₹50,000 or you want free redemptions.
PRIME or IDFC FIRST WOW!
FIRST WOW! starts from a ₹20,000 FD, gives a limit of 100% of it and earns 4 points per ₹200, which IDFC FIRST values at 0.5%. Its forex markup is zero against 3.5% on PRIME, and its age limit is 80. For most people WOW! is the stronger card; PRIME wins only on free redemption, the higher age limit and keeping things with Bank of Baroda.
PRIME or BOBCARD EASY
BOBCARD EASY is unsecured, for ages 21 to 60, with a ₹500 joining fee (the card page shows ₹0 as a limited-period offer from 1 September 2026) and a ₹500 annual fee waived on ₹35,000 of yearly spends. It gives 5 points per ₹100 at departmental stores and on movies, capped at 1,000 points a cycle, and 1 point elsewhere. Move on it once you can qualify without an FD. More picks are on the credit cards hub.
Prime against similar cards
| Term | BOBCARD PRIME This card | ICICI Bank Instant Platinum Credit Card | FIRST WOW! Credit Card | BOBCARD EASY |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank | BOBCARD | ICICI Bank | IDFC FIRST Bank | BOBCARD |
| Joining fee | Nil | Nil | Nil | ₹500 + GST |
| Annual fee and waiver | Nil | Nil | Nil | ₹500 + GST. First-year fee waived on INR 6,000 spends in the first 60 days (else levied in the third statement); annual fee waived on INR 35,000 spends in the anniversary year |
| Base reward | 2 reward points per INR 100 on eligible categories (about 0.4% value) | 2 ICICI Bank Reward Points per ₹100 spent on all purchases except fuel... | 4 Reward Points per ₹200 spent on online, offline and international spends... (about 0.5% value) | 1 reward point per INR 100 on other eligible categories (about 0.2% value) |
| Best category | Flights booked via BOBCARD SmartDeal: 8 extra points per INR 100 (T&C table; 'Extra 4X rewards') | No higher-reward category published | Hotel bookings via 'FIRST Rewards Gallery' in the IDFC FIRST Bank app: about 2.5% value | Departmental stores and movies: about 1% value |
| Lounges | Domestic: None listed International: None listed | Domestic: None stated International: None stated | Domestic: None International: None | Domestic: None listed International: None listed |
| Forex markup | 3.5% of the amount | 3.5% of the amount | 0% (no markup) | 3.5% of the amount |
| Network | RuPay | Not stated by the bank | Visa | Not stated by the bank |
| Published minimum income | No income proof needed (card issued against FD) | No income criterion stated; secured by FD | No income proof required | Not published by the bank |
| Status | Taking applications | Taking applications | Taking applications | Taking applications |
Frequently asked questions
Is BOBCARD PRIME really free?
How much are PRIME reward points worth?
What FD do I need for BOBCARD PRIME?
Does BOBCARD PRIME work on UPI?
Can I use BOBCARD PRIME abroad?
What changed for PRIME cardholders in 2026?
Related
- Bank of Baroda Credit Cards 2026: BOBCARD Fees, Points and Offers
- ICICI Bank Instant Platinum Credit Card Review: Free Card on a ₹50,000 FD
- FIRST WOW! Credit Card Review: FD-Backed, Zero Forex, Points Abroad
- BOBCARD Easy Credit Card Review: 5X at Departmental Stores, ₹500 Fee
- Credit Card With No Credit History: FD Cards and First Steps (2026)
Sources
- BOBCARD Limited: BOBCARD Product Features - Important Terms & Conditions (file dated 02-11-2026); BOBCARD Consolidated MITC; Key Fact Statement (KFS), dated 17 Jul 2026; BOBCARD PRIME; BOBCARD PRIME (expanded "Read more" text); Revision in Product Features and Charges w.e.f 1st April, 2026
Last verified: 5 November 2026
Written by Pankaj Pandey, reviewed by BankCreds Financial Experts
BankCreds does not sell cards or take applications. Fees and rewards change; the bank's own terms on the day you apply are what count, and approval is the bank's decision.