Airtel Axis Bank vs Amazon Pay ICICI Bank: Airtel Bills or Amazon Orders?

Pick the Airtel Axis Bank card if your home pays several Airtel bills and the card is also your everyday spender, and the Amazon Pay ICICI Bank card if you are a Prime member who buys a lot on Amazon. In our three spend profiles Airtel Axis returned more at ₹10,000 and ₹25,000 a month, while Amazon Pay ICICI pulled ahead at ₹40,000 a month with half of it on Amazon.

Rashmi Mandana By Rashmi Mandana · Content Writer Updated 5 November 2026 Reviewed by BankCreds Financial Experts

In short

Airtel Axis Bank returns more for Airtel households that also use the card every day, while Amazon Pay ICICI Bank wins for Prime members who shop heavily on Amazon and want no fee at all.

Best for

  • Airtel Axis: homes paying two or more Airtel bills through the Airtel Thanks app
  • Amazon Pay ICICI: Prime members spending ₹20,000 or more a month on Amazon
  • People happy to hold both, with bills on one card and Amazon orders on the other

Skip it if

  • You want lounge access or travel rewards, which neither card gives
  • Most of your spending is rent, fuel or education fees, which both cards leave out

Highlights

  • Airtel Axis: ₹500 + GST a year, waived on ₹2,00,000 of yearly spends
  • Amazon Pay ICICI: no joining, annual or add-on fee
  • Airtel Axis: 25% on Airtel bills, capped at twice the 1% base cashback
  • Amazon Pay ICICI: 5% on Amazon with Prime, 3% without
  • Forex mark-up: 3.5% on Airtel Axis, 1.99% on Amazon Pay ICICI

Side by side

Every term from the banks' own pages, last verified 5 November 2026.
Term Airtel Axis Bank Credit Card Amazon Pay ICICI Bank Credit Card
Bank Axis Bank ICICI Bank
Joining fee ₹500 + GST Nil
Annual fee and waiver ₹500 + GST. Annual fee (2nd year onward) waived on spends of INR 2,00,000 in the preceding card anniversary year; rent, wallet loads and gift cards do not count. Nil
Base reward 1% base cashback on all other eligible spends, no cap (about 1% value) 1% Reward Points on all purchases on non-Amazon platforms (about 1% value)
Best category Airtel mobile, broadband, Wi-Fi and DTH bill payments via the Airtel Thanks app: about 25% value Amazon.in purchases, Amazon Prime members: about 5% value
Lounges Domestic: None (4 complimentary domestic lounge visits discontinued from 12 April 2026) International: None Domestic: None stated on card page International: None stated on card page
Forex markup 3.5% of the amount 1.99% of the amount
Network RuPay Visa
Published minimum income Not stated on the card page ₹30,000 a month
Status Taking applications Taking applications
Add-on card fee Nil Nil
Earned as cashback Reward points credited as Amazon Pay balance (earn rates are stated as % of transaction amount)
Higher-reward categories
  • Airtel mobile, broadband, Wi-Fi and DTH bill payments via the Airtel Thanks app: 25% cashback, about 25% value (Capped at twice the base (1%) cashback earned in the same statement month, statement month)
  • Other utility bills via the Airtel Thanks app: 10% cashback, about 10% value (Capped at the base (1%) cashback earned in the same statement month, statement month)
  • Zomato, Blinkit and District Movies: 10% value back credited to the partner's wallet (no Axis cashback), about 10% value (Maximum INR 200 per partner per month per primary card; minimum order INR 499 on Zomato and Blinkit, month)
  • Amazon.in purchases, Amazon Prime members: 5% of the transaction amount, about 5% value (No cap stated ('Unlimited'))
  • Amazon.in purchases, non-Prime members: 3% of the transaction amount, about 3% value (No cap stated)
  • Digitally fulfilled categories via Login and Pay with Amazon Pay and physical gift cards; Amazon Pay partner merchants: 2% of the transaction amount, about 2% value (No cap stated)
No rewards on
  • Cash advances / financial institutions
  • Fuel
  • Rent
  • Wallet recharge
  • Jewellery
  • Insurance
  • Education
  • Government services
  • Utility and telecom spends not made on the Airtel Thanks app
  • Gift cards
  • Bridge fees, road fees and tolls
  • EMI transactions and purchases converted to EMI
  • Payment of outstanding balance, fees and charges
  • Fuel, gold, silver, any precious metal, tax-related payments
  • Rent (w.e.f. Jun 18, 2024)
  • Education and international transactions (w.e.f. Oct 11, 2025)
  • Utility transactions outside Amazon (w.e.f. Oct 11, 2025)
  • EMI (including EMI on call) and cash transactions; points clawed back if converted to EMI
  • Late payment and other fees, interest
Value of a point
  • Statement credit (cashback): Cashback credited to the card statement.
  • Partner wallet value back (Zomato, Blinkit, District Movies): Credited to the partner wallet with no validity period; usable only on that partner's platform.
  • Amazon Pay balance (credited automatically within 2 working days of statement): Earn is stated as a % of the transaction amount credited as Amazon Pay balance; no separate per-point rupee value published
Redemption fee None (card page: reward redemption fee 'No') None stated (credited automatically as Amazon Pay balance)
Expiry Partner wallet value back has no validity period. Cashback expiry not stated. Issuer page: 'Non-expiring, Unlimited rewards' (credited as Amazon Pay balance in terms of Amazon Gift Cards, subject to Amazon Gift Card terms)
Welcome benefits
  • Amazon e-voucher worth INR 250 on the first transaction within 30 days of issuance (not for cards issued without joining fee)
None published
Milestone benefits None published None published
Fuel surcharge waiver 1% fuel surcharge waiver at all fuel stations in India on transactions of INR 400 to INR 4,000; maximum INR 500 per statement; GST not refunded; no cashback on fuel 1% surcharge waiver at all petrol pumps (MITC); range and cap not stated in the Amazon Pay MITC; 1% fee on fuel transactions above ₹10,000
Insurance cover Not published by the bank None stated on card page
Interest on unpaid balances Up to 3.75% a month (55.55% a year) Up to 3.75% a month (45% a year)
Late payment fee Nil if total payment due is up to INR 500; INR 500 for INR 501 to 5,000; INR 750 for INR 5,001 to 10,000; INR 1,200 for INR 10,001 to 50,000; INR 1,300 if greater than INR 50,000; additional INR 100 if Minimum Amount Due is missed for two consecutive cycles, every cycle until MAD is cleared (MITC; INR 1,300 slab effective 28 Aug 2026) ₹0 if outstanding below ₹100; ₹100 (₹100 to ₹500); ₹500 (₹501 to ₹1,000); ₹600 (₹1,001 to ₹5,000); ₹750 (₹5,001 to ₹10,000); ₹900 (₹10,001 to ₹25,000); ₹1,100 (₹25,001 to ₹50,000); ₹1,300 (above ₹50,000). Outstanding = Total Amount Due minus payments before due date; levied if MAD unpaid after due date plus 3 days.
Cash withdrawal 2.5% of the amount (minimum INR 500); interest at 3.75% per month from the date of withdrawal 2.5% of amount, minimum ₹500, plus interest at 3.75% per month from the transaction date
Age (salaried) 18 to 70 years Indian citizen, minimum age 21
Income (salaried) Not stated on the card page Monthly income of at least ₹30,000
Income (self-employed) Not stated on the card page Monthly income of at least ₹30,000
Documents
  • PAN card photocopy
  • Colour photograph
  • Income proof: latest payslip, bank statement, Form 16 or IT return
  • Residence proof: passport, driving licence, voter ID or Aadhaar
  • Identity proof: passport, driving licence, voter ID, Aadhaar or PAN
  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of address
  • Income proof
Last verified 5 November 2026 5 November 2026

Two bill-and-shopping cards that reward very different habits

Both cards pay back on bills and online shopping, yet the money comes from different places. The Airtel Axis Bank Credit Card is a RuPay card built around the Airtel Thanks app: 25% cashback on Airtel mobile, broadband, Wi-Fi and DTH bills, 10% on other utility bills paid there, and 1% on most other spends. The Amazon Pay ICICI Bank Credit Card is a Visa card with no joining or annual fee that pay 5% on Amazon for Prime members, 3% for others, 2% on bills and recharges done through Amazon Pay and 1% elsewhere.

Our verdict in two sentences. If Airtel bills is a big part of your month and the card also carries your daily spending, Airtel Axis returns more on a ₹10,000 to ₹25,000 budget. If you have Prime and put ₹20,000 or more a month through Amazon, Amazon Pay ICICI wins, and it costs nothing to keep.

The catch on each side

Airtel Axis has a cap that many people misses. Since 12 April 2026 the 25% Airtel cashback is limited to twice the 1% base cashback earned in the same statement month, and the 10% utility cashback to once that base. Spend nothing else on the card and the Airtel cashback is zero.

The Amazon card's catch is getting it. ICICI calls it an invite only programme, the application starts on Amazon's own site, and the floor is ₹30,000 of monthly income. Since 11 October 2025 education, international and non-Amazon utility payments earn nothing on it, so its use becomes very much limited to Amazon only.

What changed recently

  • Airtel Axis, 12 April 2026: base-linked caps replaced the fixed ₹250 caps, Zomato, Blinkit and District Movies value back replaced the old food cashback, and the 4 free domestic lounge visits was stopped. On 28 August 2026 the markup on rupee payments abroad rose to 3.5% from 1.5%.
  • Amazon Pay ICICI: forex mark-up cut from 3.50% to 1.99% on 1 October 2025; currency conversion fee raised from 1% to 1.99% on 15 January 2026.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Airtel Axis: 25% back on Airtel bills and 10% on other utility bills paid in the Airtel Thanks app
  • Airtel Axis: RuPay card that works on UPI, open to applicants from 18
  • Amazon Pay ICICI: no joining, annual or add-on fee under the MITC
  • Amazon Pay ICICI: 5% on Amazon for Prime members with no cap stated
  • Amazon Pay ICICI: 1.99% forex mark-up against 3.5% on Airtel Axis

Cons

  • Airtel Axis: Airtel cashback is capped at twice the 1% base cashback earned that month
  • Airtel Axis: ₹500 + GST a year unless you spend ₹2,00,000, and no lounge visits since 12 April 2026
  • Amazon Pay ICICI: invite only, with a ₹30,000 monthly income floor
  • Amazon Pay ICICI: no rewards on international, education or non-Amazon utility spends since 11 October 2025

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for paying Airtel bills, Airtel Axis or Amazon Pay ICICI?
Airtel Axis, if you also use it for regular spending. It pays 25% on Airtel bills paid in the Airtel Thanks app, capped at twice the 1% base cashback earned that statement month, against 2% on Amazon Pay ICICI for bills paid through Amazon Pay. With ₹20,000 of other spends, Airtel Axis can return up to ₹400 a month on Airtel bills.
Is the Amazon Pay ICICI card really lifetime free?
Yes. ICICI's MITC says there is no joining or annual fee for the Amazon Pay ICICI Bank Credit Card, and add-ons are free. Airtel Axis charges ₹500 plus GST to join and ₹500 plus GST a year from the second year, waived when you spent ₹2,00,000 in the previous card year, leaving out rent, wallet loads and gift cards.
Who can apply for these two cards?
Airtel Axis takes applicants aged 18 to 70 who live in India, through the Airtel Thanks app; its card page states no income figure, and Axis's general floor is ₹15,000 a month. Amazon Pay ICICI is invite only, starts on Amazon and asks for age 21 and at least ₹30,000 a month. On both cards approval is the bank's decision.
Which card is better for spending abroad?
Neither is built for it. Amazon Pay ICICI charges a 1.99% mark-up but has earned no rewards on international spends since 11 October 2025, while Airtel Axis charges 3.5%. On ₹50,000 spent abroad that is ₹1,174.10 with GST on the ICICI card against ₹2,065 on the Axis card, and neither card gives lounge access.
What changed on the Airtel Axis card in 2026?
From 12 April 2026 the fixed ₹250 caps on the 25% and 10% Airtel categories were replaced by caps of twice and once the 1% base cashback, food delivery cashback became 10% value back on Zomato, Blinkit and District Movies, and the 4 domestic lounge visits ended. From 28 August 2026 the markup on rupee payments abroad rose to 3.5%.
Does Amazon Pay ICICI beat Airtel Axis if I am not a Prime member?
Usually not. Without Prime, Amazon purchases earn 3% instead of 5%. In our ₹40,000 a month profile with ₹20,000 on Amazon, that takes Amazon Pay ICICI down to ₹10,080 a year, below the ₹10,920 Airtel Axis returns on the same spends with its fee waived. With Prime the ICICI card returns ₹14,880.

Sources

  • Axis Bank: Most Important Terms and Conditions (MITC), PDF dated 8 October 2026; Cashback and Value back Terms & Conditions - Airtel Axis Bank Credit Card (effective 12 April 2026); Key Fact Sheet (schedule of charges), last updated 8 October 2026; Airtel Axis Bank Credit Card page; Axis Bank Credit Cards Domestic Airport Lounge Access Program
  • Business Today: New rules for Axis Bank credit cards valid from December 20
  • ICICI Bank Limited: Most Important Terms and Conditions (MITC), Amazon Pay ICICI Bank Credit Card; Most Important Terms and Conditions (MITC), credit cards; Terms and Conditions governing Amazon Pay ICICI Bank Credit Card; Amazon Pay ICICI Bank Credit Card

Last verified: 5 November 2026

Written by Rashmi Mandana, reviewed by BankCreds Financial Experts

BankCreds does not sell cards or take applications. Fees and rewards change; the bank's own terms on the day you apply are what count, and approval is the bank's decision.

Disclaimer: BankCreds.com is a loan comparison platform and does not directly lend, disburse, or provide any financial products. We aggregate and display loan offers from RBI-registered banks and NBFCs to help you make an informed decision. All loan applications are processed directly by the respective lender. Interest rates, charges, eligibility, and terms shown are indicative and subject to the lender's final assessment. Please read the lender's terms and conditions carefully before applying.