Guides

Tata Capital Loan App Real or Fake? The Lender, Costs and Scams

Anjali Bhargawa By Anjali Bhargawa · Content Writer Edited by BankCreds Content & SEO Team Updated 4 November 2026 Reviewed by BankCreds Financial Experts
Published 4 November 2026 · 12 min read

Tata Capital is real, and so is its loan app. Personal loans in the Tata Capital Loan App & Wealth come from Tata Capital Limited itself. That's an RBI-registered NBFC in the Tata group. The fake risk sits somewhere else: in calls, messages, ads and websites that borrow the Tata name.

Real and safe are two different questions, though. Tata Capital is regulated, but its loans are not cheap to leave. Pay it off in the first year and you'll be charged 6.5% of the principal left. Before you accept an offer, check two lines on the Key Fact Statement (KFS). The lender should read Tata Capital Limited, and the APR should match what you were told.

Quick answer: Tata Capital in five points

  • A real, regulated lender: Tata Capital Limited, part of Tata Sons, is serial 7610 in RBI's NBFC list (data as on 30 September 2026).
  • Its own app: Tata Capital lists the Tata Capital Loan App & Wealth as one of its digital lending apps.
  • Mid-range price: rates on the website run from 10.99% to 33% a year. The APR can go as high as 45%.
  • Costly exit: foreclosure costs 6.5% of the principal left in the first 12 months, then 4.5%.
  • Fakes are out there: Tata Capital warns about fake staff and websites. Police have arrested people for loan scams run in its name.

Who runs the Tata Capital app and who lends the money

The app and the lender are the same company. Tata Capital Limited calls itself the flagship financial services company of the Tata Group. It's a subsidiary of Tata Sons Private Limited and runs as a non-banking financial company. On Google Play, the developer of the Tata Capital Loan App & Wealth is shown as Tata Capital Limited.

The app also sells home, vehicle and business loans, but this post covers only the personal loan.

Home loans in the Tata family come from Tata Capital Housing Finance Limited, a housing finance company with its own RBI entry, serial 7609. Don't mix the two up when you check a document.

You may also see older names on old papers. Tata Capital Financial Services merged into Tata Capital Limited, and its old terms are labelled as applying before 31 December 2023. Tata Motors Finance customers also became Tata Capital customers after a merger. So those names on an old loan letter are not a sign of a fake.

Tata Capital lends through other apps too. Its list of digital lending partners has 15 names. Among them are Tata Neu, Paytm, Navi, KreditBee, Fibe, Ola, Lendingkart, Finnable and Indmoney, plus marketplaces like Paisabazaar and Wishfin. Navi, KreditBee and Fibe also share loans with Tata Capital under co-lending deals.

So a KreditBee, Navi or Fibe loan whose KFS names Tata Capital is normal, not a sign of a fake.

Is Tata Capital RBI registered? How to check it yourself

Apps don't hold RBI licences; lenders do. Here's how we checked on 4 November 2026, so you can repeat it.

  1. Find the lender's name. Look at the sanction letter or KFS. It should say Tata Capital Limited, not a vague "Tata Loans" or "Tata Finance".
  2. Open RBI's list of registered NBFCs. It's a PDF on RBI's own website. The edition we read has data as on 30 September 2026.
  3. Match the row. Tata Capital Limited is serial 7610. It sits under RBI's Mumbai office, does not take deposits, is an Investment and Credit Company and is placed in the Upper layer.
  4. Skip the wrong row. Serial 7609 is Tata Capital Housing Finance, the home loan company. It's a different lender.
  5. Check Tata Capital's own app list. Its Partners page links a list of digital lending apps. Row 11 is the Tata Capital Loan App & Wealth, run by Tata Capital Limited. If you're using another app, look for that app on the same list.
  6. Try RBI's Digital Lending Apps directory. It would not load for us, so this check is still open. Run it yourself before you sign.
  7. Look for warnings. We found no RBI penalty against Tata Capital in our searches, as of November 2026. We didn't check Sachet, so search it too.

Want the same method for any app? Our step-by-step RBI check walks through it.

What a Tata Capital personal loan costs

Tata Capital's website and its Play listing don't quote the same terms. Here's each figure and where it appears, as of November 2026.

Term

Tata Capital website

Google Play listing

Loan amount

₹40,000 to ₹35,00,000

₹5,000 to ₹10,00,000

Tenure

Up to 6 years (12 to 72 months in its calculator)

12 to 84 months

Interest

10.99% to 33% a year

From 10.99%

APR

10.99% to 45%

Up to 26%

Processing fee

Up to 5% of the loan + GST

From ₹1,499 + GST

Documentation charge

Up to ₹1,999 + GST

Not stated

Late payment

3% a month on the overdue amount (36% a year)

Not stated

Failed payment

₹600 each time

Not stated

Foreclosure

6.5% of principal left in the first 12 months, then 4.5%

Not stated

Part prepayment

Free up to 25% of the loan; above that 6.5% or 4.5%

Not stated

Cooling-off

3 days from payout with no prepayment penalty

Not stated

The Play listing gives one worked example. You borrow ₹5 lakh for 2 years at 14% with a 2% fee. The EMI comes to ₹24,006. That checks out with the standard EMI formula.

The listing prints the total repayment as "Rs. 5,75,88", which has a digit missing. Twenty-four EMIs of ₹24,006 add up to ₹5,76,144. The 2% fee is ₹10,000, plus ₹1,800 GST, and it's taken out of the payout. So about ₹4,88,200 reaches your bank, before any documentation charge or stamp duty.

The APR figures also clash. Play says the APR tops out at 26%, yet the website's top interest rate alone is 33%. Only your KFS tells you the real APR.

Insurance is optional. The application terms say buying insurance is voluntary and not linked to the loan. If you see a premium in your offer that you didn't ask for, ask to have it removed before you sign.

Why some people think Tata Capital is fake

Most doubts come from four places, and only one of them points to real fraud.

Scammers borrow the Tata name. An older Tata Capital advisory lists made-up names such as Tata Loans, Tata Finance, Tata Finance Industries and Tata Loan Company. In April 2024, ThePrint (PTI) reported that police in Gurugram arrested three people for a fake call centre. They had cheated people "by pretending to give loans in the name of Tata Capital". These scams are real, but Tata Capital isn't behind them.

Angry reviews use the word fraud. On Google Play, some users call Tata Capital a fraud. Read closely and most of them describe slow foreclosure, double EMI debits or poor service. Those are real problems, but they aren't proof of a fake lender.

The numbers don't match. The website and the Play listing quote different limits, fees and APRs, as the table shows. Messy, yes. Fake, no.

Calls keep coming. The loan application includes consent for Tata Capital and its agents to contact you, even if you're on the Do Not Disturb list. That consent stays valid after a loan is rejected or closed. So some sales calls are genuine. The test is what the caller asks for, which we cover below.

What borrowers say about the Tata Capital app

As of November 2026, the app has 4.4 stars from 1.16L reviews and 50L+ downloads on Google Play. It was last updated on 13 Oct 2026. Many reviews are about its vehicle, home or business loans, not personal loans.

The newest reviews tell a rougher story than the star average. Since late October 2026, one-star reviews have piled up about the app not opening or not accepting a registered mobile number. Most were posted from version 2.6.6 of the app.

Older complaints repeat a few themes:

  • There's no foreclosure or part-payment button in the app.
  • A foreclosure letter can take up to 10 days, one reviewer said.
  • Some saw the same EMI debited twice.
  • The helpline is charged and automated, a few users wrote.
  • Some find the rate high.

The praise is short. People mention easy use and fast payouts, and one named a helpful loan officer. Many five-star posts are a single word like "good" or "nice". We didn't see bursts of identical text that would suggest fake reviews. Tata Capital replies to most complaints and asks for details by email.

Fake Tata Capital calls, apps and agents: the warning signs

  • Get the app only from Google Play. Look for the Tata Capital Loan App & Wealth by Tata Capital Limited. Never install an APK sent over WhatsApp, SMS or email.
  • Know the real WhatsApp number. Tata Capital's own page gives 7506756060. It should show the name Tata Capital with a verified tick.
  • Fees come out of the loan. Tata Capital's terms say the processing fee and taxes are deducted from the payout. A caller who wants a "processing fee" or "stamp duty" paid first is a warning sign.
  • Pay only Tata Capital. Its terms say every payment must be made in favour of the company. Never pay a personal UPI ID or someone's bank account. The Gurugram gang asked victims to send money for charges to different bank accounts.
  • Check the website. Tata Capital's advisory says its official site is tatacapital.com. Check the spelling before you type in any details.
  • Ask Tata Capital directly. If you're unsure, call 1860 267 6060 or email customercare@tatacapital.com.

Something went wrong? Tata Capital's complaint ladder

Tata Capital publishes a four-level complaint ladder. Our Tata Capital customer care page keeps these contacts in one place.

  1. Customer care. Call 1860 267 6060. Lines are open 9am to 8pm, Monday to Saturday. You can also write to customercare@tatacapital.com, giving your loan account number and registered mobile. Email leaves a written record.
  2. Grievance officer. No reply within 7 working days? Write to Ms. Francyna Dias, who handles retail grievances, at SeniorCRORetail@tatacapital.com. Her line is 022 6968 2393.
  3. Principal Nodal Officer. Still stuck? Contact Ms. Sona S. Gaharwar at CCRO@tatacapital.com or 022 6968 2392.
  4. RBI Ombudsman. If 30 days pass without a fix, file a complaint at cms.rbi.org.in or call 14448.
  5. Fraud or money lost. Call the cybercrime helpline 1930 at once, and report it to your local police.

Got your Tata Capital loan through a partner app? Its policy says complaints about partner apps also go to the nodal officer. The duty to fix them stays with Tata Capital.

Is a Tata Capital personal loan right for you?

Tata Capital fits best if you:

  • are salaried, aged 21 to 58, and earn at least ₹20,000 a month
  • have a credit score of 725 or more, which it prefers
  • need a large loan, up to ₹35 lakh, over as long as 6 years
  • plan to keep the loan to the end

Look elsewhere if you may repay early, since 6.5% in the first year can wipe out what you save on interest. It's also a poor fit if you aren't salaried, because Tata Capital publishes rules only for salaried applicants. And if you need to manage your loan in the app this week, the login complaints are a real concern.

Get at least one more quote before you sign. Big NBFCs such as Bajaj Finserv, Poonawalla Fincorp and Aditya Birla Capital are worth asking. Put each KFS next to Tata Capital's and compare the APR and the foreclosure line. For scores on speed, cost and support, read our full Tata Capital review.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Tata Capital loan app real or fake?

It's real. Tata Capital Limited publishes the Tata Capital Loan App & Wealth on Google Play. The app also appears on the company's own list of lending apps. The lender is Tata Capital itself, an RBI-registered NBFC. Fakes come as calls, messages, ads and lookalike websites, so install the app only from Google Play.

Is Tata Capital registered with RBI?

Yes. Tata Capital Limited is serial 7610 in RBI's list of registered NBFCs, data as on 30 September 2026. It's listed under the Mumbai office as an Investment and Credit Company that doesn't take deposits, in the Upper layer. Tata Capital Housing Finance has its own separate entry, serial 7609.

What does a Tata Capital personal loan really cost?

Interest on the website runs from 10.99% to 33% a year, and the APR from 10.99% to 45%. The processing fee can be as high as 5%, plus GST, and is taken from the payout. Documentation charges can reach ₹1,999. Late EMIs cost 3% a month. Your KFS shows the APR for your own offer, so read it first.

What is the Tata Capital customer care number?

The retail customer care number is 1860 267 6060, open 9am to 8pm, Monday to Saturday. The email is customercare@tatacapital.com. Tata Capital calls the line toll-free, but some users say they were charged. For complaints, the retail grievance officer is on 022 6968 2393.

Someone called offering a Tata Capital loan. Is it genuine?

It might be, since Tata Capital and its agents do make sales calls. The red flag is a request to pay first. Tata Capital deducts its fee from the payout, and every payment must go to the company, never to a personal account or UPI ID. If in doubt, hang up and call 1860 267 6060 yourself.

How do I close or cancel a Tata Capital personal loan?

Within 3 days of payout you can repay with no prepayment penalty. After that, foreclosure costs 6.5% of the principal left during the first 12 months, then 4.5%, plus GST. Part payments are free until they add up to 25% of the loan amount. Reviewers say there's no way to foreclose inside the app, so ask customer care for a foreclosure letter.

Why can't I log in to the Tata Capital app?

Many users have reported this since late October 2026, mostly on app version 2.6.6. Reviews describe the app freezing on the opening screen or rejecting a registered mobile number. Your EMI still goes out by e-mandate, so keep money in the account. Tata Capital also takes EMIs by net banking or UPI. For login help, email customercare@tatacapital.com.

Sources: Tata Capital personal loan, rates and charges, application, eligibility, documents, WhatsApp, contact, grievance, partners and about pages, November 2026; Tata Capital lists of digital lending partners and co-lending partners, September 2026; Tata Capital grievance handling policy, October 2026; Tata Capital fraud advisories; Google Play listing, data safety section and reviews of the Tata Capital Loan App & Wealth, November 2026; RBI list of registered NBFCs, data as on 30 September 2026; ThePrint (PTI), April 2024.

How this article was produced

Written by Anjali Bhargawa, edited by BankCreds Content & SEO Team, and fact-checked for accuracy by BankCreds Financial Experts. Loan and credit terms change often — figures are indicative and you should confirm current rates and charges with the lender before applying.

Read our editorial policy, how we make money, and corrections policy.

Disclaimer: BankCreds.com is a loan comparison platform and does not directly lend, disburse, or provide any financial products. We aggregate and display loan offers from RBI-registered banks and NBFCs to help you make an informed decision. All loan applications are processed directly by the respective lender. Interest rates, charges, eligibility, and terms shown are indicative and subject to the lender's final assessment. Please read the lender's terms and conditions carefully before applying.