IndianOil HDFC Bank vs IndianOil Axis Bank: Same Pump, Two Different Deals

For most IndianOil drivers the HDFC Bank card returns more: it pays 5% as Fuel Points on fuel, groceries and bills, a point is worth ₹0.96 as free fuel at IndianOil, and its ₹500 fee is waived on just ₹50,000 of yearly spends. The Axis Bank card pays 4% on the first ₹5,000 of fuel a month and 1% online, but needs ₹3,50,000 a year to waive the same ₹500 fee.

Rashmi Mandana By Rashmi Mandana · Content Writer Updated 5 November 2026 Reviewed by BankCreds Financial Experts

In short

IndianOil HDFC Bank is the better card for most IndianOil users who redeem their points as free fuel, while IndianOil Axis Bank suits someone who also shops online and wants points with one flat ₹0.20 value.

Best for

  • HDFC: households paying groceries and utility bills on the same card as their fuel
  • HDFC: light spenders, since ₹50,000 a year waives the fee
  • Axis: drivers aged 18 to 20, below HDFC's minimum age, who also shop online

Skip it if

  • You spend more than ₹5,000 a month on fuel, beyond both cards' fuel caps
  • You want cashback in rupees rather than fuel at IndianOil pumps

Highlights

  • Both: ₹500 + GST joining and annual fee
  • HDFC waiver at ₹50,000 a year, Axis at ₹3,50,000
  • HDFC: 5% as Fuel Points on fuel, groceries and bills, capped per bucket
  • Axis: 20 points per ₹100 on IndianOil fuel up to ₹5,000 a month
  • Both RuPay cards that work on UPI

Side by side

Every term from the banks' own pages, last verified 5 November 2026.
Term IndianOil HDFC Bank Credit Card IndianOil Axis Bank Credit Card
Bank HDFC Bank Axis Bank
Joining fee ₹500 + GST ₹500 + GST
Annual fee and waiver ₹500 + GST. Renewal fee waived on annual spends of ₹50,000 ₹500 + GST. Annual fee waived for an anniversary year with eligible spends of INR 3,50,000 or more (rent, wallet loads, EMI, cash, fees, insurance and disputed transactions excluded).
Base reward 1 Fuel Point for every ₹150 spent on other categories, including UPI... 1 EDGE REWARD Point per INR 100 on other eligible retail spends (about 0.2% value)
Best category IndianOil fuel pumps and outlets: about 5% value Fuel at IndianOil outlets: about 4% value
Lounges Domestic: None International: None Domestic: None stated International: None stated
Forex markup 3.5% of the amount 3.5% of the amount
Network RuPay RuPay
Published minimum income ₹12,000 a month Not stated on the card page
Status Taking applications Taking applications
Add-on card fee Nil Nil
Earned as Fuel Points (1 Fuel Point = 1 Reward Point) EDGE REWARD Points
Higher-reward categories
  • IndianOil fuel pumps and outlets: 5% of spends as Fuel Points, about 5% value (Max 250 Fuel Points per month in first 6 months, Max 150 Fuel Points post 6 months from card issuance, month)
  • Groceries: 5% Fuel Points, about 5% value (Max 100 Fuel Points per month, month)
  • Bill payments: 5% Fuel Points, about 5% value (Max 100 Fuel Points per month, month)
  • Fuel at IndianOil outlets: 20 EDGE REWARD Points per INR 100 (4% value back), about 4% value (On eligible fuel spends up to INR 5,000 per calendar month; maximum 1,000 points a month; settlement amount per transaction INR 400 to INR 4,000 (card page), ₹1,000, calendar month)
  • Online shopping: 5 EDGE REWARD Points per INR 100 (1% value back), about 1% value (On eligible online spends up to INR 5,000 per calendar month; maximum 250 points a month; per transaction INR 100 to INR 5,000 (card page), calendar month)
No rewards on
  • Wallet
  • Rent
  • Government related transactions
  • Supermarkets
  • Tax
  • EMI (all types)
  • Vending machines (miscellaneous foods)
  • Package stores, beer, wine, liquor
  • Bakeries
  • Cash advances and travellers' cheques
  • Insurance
  • Jewellery and fuel excluded from the 1 FP per ₹150 category
  • Transportation and tolls
  • Telecom
  • Jewellery
  • Utilities
  • Insurance
  • Educational institutions
  • Government institutions
  • Wallet
  • Rent
  • Gift cards
  • Bridge, toll and road fees
  • Fuel (outside the IOCL accelerated benefit), cash withdrawals and EMI-related transactions for base points
Value of a point
  • Free fuel at IOCL pumps (via XTRAREWARDS): 1 Fuel Point (FP) = 3 XTRAREWARD points (XRP); 1 FP = Rs. 0.96; minimum 500 FP, in multiples of 500
  • Cashback against statement balance: 1 Fuel Point = ₹0.2; minimum 12,500 Fuel Points; ₹50 fee
  • Product catalogue: Upto Rs. 0.2
  • Airmiles: 0.25
  • SmartBuy flights and hotels: 0.2; up to 50% of booking
  • EDGE REWARDS catalogue: Axis equates 20 points per INR 100 with '4% value back' (INR 0.20 a point).
Redemption fee ₹50 per cashback redemption (w.e.f. 1 Aug 2024); ₹99 + taxes per catalogue redemption INR 99 per transaction on the EDGE REWARDS platform
Expiry Reward points valid for 2 years EDGE REWARD Points expire 3 years from allotment, or after 365 days without account activity; forfeiture 30 days after closure or MAD overdue 90+ days.
Welcome benefits
  • Complimentary IndianOil XTRAREWARDS Program membership
  • ₹250 voucher on at least one transaction within 37 days of card issuance
  • 100% value back as up to 1,250 EDGE REWARD Points on the first fuel transaction within 30 days of issuance (5 points per INR 1 on up to INR 250; primary card only)
Milestone benefits
  • Renewal fee waived on ₹50,000 annual spends
None published
Fuel surcharge waiver 1% fuel surcharge waiver on transactions of ₹400 to ₹5,000; maximum waiver ₹250 per statement cycle 1% fuel surcharge waiver at eligible IndianOil outlets on transactions of INR 400 to INR 4,000; maximum INR 50 per statement/calendar cycle; GST not refunded
Insurance cover Not published by the bank Not published by the bank
Interest on unpaid balances Up to 3.75% a month (45% a year) Up to 3.75% a month (55.55% a year)
Late payment fee Late payment charges (excl. GST), basis the bill amount, w.e.f. 1 Aug 2024: nil up to ₹100; ₹100 for ₹101 to ₹500; ₹500 for ₹501 to ₹1,000; ₹600 for ₹1,001 to ₹5,000; ₹750 for ₹5,001 to ₹10,000; ₹900 for ₹10,001 to ₹25,000; ₹1,100 for ₹25,001 to ₹50,000; ₹1,300 above ₹50,000. Charged when the Minimum Amount Due is not paid; account is reported past due and late fee levied only after 3 grace days from the due date. Nil if total payment due is up to INR 500; INR 500 for INR 501 to 5,000; INR 750 for INR 5,001 to 10,000; INR 1,200 for INR 10,001 to 50,000; INR 1,300 if greater than INR 50,000; additional INR 100 if Minimum Amount Due is missed for two consecutive cycles, every cycle until MAD is cleared (MITC; INR 1,300 slab effective 28 Aug 2026)
Cash withdrawal 2.5% of the amount withdrawn or ₹500, whichever is higher, plus finance charges at the revolving rate from the date of withdrawal until full payment. 2.5% of the amount (minimum INR 500); interest at 3.75% per month from the date of withdrawal
Age (salaried) 21 to 60 years 18 to 70 years
Income (salaried) Gross monthly income greater than ₹12,000 Not stated on the card page
Income (self-employed) Income Tax Return (ITR) greater than ₹6 lakh per annum Not stated on the card page
Documents
  • Identity proof, address proof and income proof (HDFC Bank general guidance; the card page's document list could not be read)
  • Existing HDFC Bank customers may not need to submit them again
  • PAN card photocopy or Form 60
  • Income proof: latest payslip, Form 16 or IT return
  • Residence proof: driving licence, electricity bill or landline telephone bill
Last verified 5 November 2026 5 November 2026

Two IndianOil co-brands that only look alike

Both cards carry the IndianOil name, both cost ₹500 plus GST and both are RuPay cards that you can link to UPI. After that they are parting ways totally. The IndianOil HDFC Bank Credit Card pays Fuel Points worth 5% of spend in three buckets, IndianOil fuel, groceries and utility bills, each with its own monthly cap. The IndianOil Axis Bank Credit Card pays 20 EDGE REWARD Points per ₹100 on IndianOil fuel, which Axis calls 4% value back, plus 5 points per ₹100 on online shopping, and almost nothing on bills.

The verdict in two sentences. If you will take your rewards as free fuel at IndianOil, the HDFC card wins in every profile we ran, by ₹2,255.60 to ₹3,107.60 a year after fees. The Axis card make sense mainly if you are under 21, or if you shop online a lot and want points with a simple ₹0.20 value.

The point value is the whole story

HDFC's Fuel Point is worth ₹0.96 only when you redeem it for fuel at IndianOil through XTRAREWARDS, in lots of 500. As cashback it drops to ₹0.20 and needs 12,500 points at least, which most users of this card never reaches before the 2-year expiry. Axis prices its points at ₹0.20 throughout, so there's less to think, but less to win also.

Recent changes

  • HDFC: a ₹50 fee on cashback redemption since 1 August 2024, and from 15 May 2026 a 1.75% markup on rupee payments abroad and a ₹199 reissue fee. The IndianOil earn rates was left unchanged.
  • Axis: interest of 3.75% a month from 20 December 2024, a 3.5% markup on rupee payments abroad from 28 August 2026, and from 1 November 2026 its BookMyShow discount needs ₹25,000 of spend in the previous 3 months.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • HDFC: 5% as Fuel Points on IndianOil fuel, groceries and bills, each with its own cap
  • HDFC: ₹500 + GST fee waived on just ₹50,000 of yearly spends
  • HDFC: surcharge waiver on fills of ₹400 to ₹5,000, up to ₹250 a cycle
  • Axis: 20 points per ₹100 on IndianOil fuel and 5 per ₹100 online
  • Axis: open to applicants from 18 to 70, including NRIs

Cons

  • HDFC: fuel cap drops to 150 points a month after the first 6 months
  • HDFC: a Fuel Point is worth ₹0.96 only as fuel; as cashback it is ₹0.20 and needs 12,500 points
  • Axis: fee waiver needs ₹3,50,000 of eligible yearly spends
  • Axis: no points on utilities or telecom, and the surcharge waiver stops at ₹50 a cycle

Frequently asked questions

Which IndianOil card is better, HDFC Bank or Axis Bank?
For most drivers who redeem points as fuel, IndianOil HDFC Bank. It pays 5% as Fuel Points on IndianOil fuel, groceries and bills, each capped, and a point is worth ₹0.96 as fuel. In our three spend profiles it returned ₹2,255.60 to ₹3,107.60 a year more than IndianOil Axis Bank after fees. Axis suits applicants aged 18 to 20 and heavy online shoppers.
How do the fees and waivers compare?
Both cards charge ₹500 plus GST to join and every year. HDFC waives the renewal on ₹50,000 of spends a year. Axis waives it on ₹3,50,000 of eligible spends in the anniversary year, a waiver given in its card terms and Key Fact Sheet although its MITC fee table leaves it out. With 18% GST the fee is ₹590.
How much is a point worth on each card?
An IndianOil HDFC Bank Fuel Point is worth ₹0.96 when redeemed for fuel at IndianOil through XTRAREWARDS in lots of 500, but only ₹0.20 as cashback, which needs at least 12,500 points and a ₹50 fee. An IndianOil Axis Bank point is worth ₹0.20, since Axis equates 20 points per ₹100 with 4% value back.
Who can apply for the IndianOil HDFC Bank and Axis Bank cards?
HDFC asks salaried applicants to be 21 to 60 with gross income above ₹12,000 a month, and self-employed applicants to file an ITR above ₹6 lakh a year. Axis accepts residents and NRIs aged 18 to 70 and publishes no income figure for this card; its general floor is ₹15,000 a month. Either bank can still decline.
What is the fuel reward cap on each card?
HDFC pays 5% at IndianOil up to 250 Fuel Points a month for the first 6 months and 150 after that, which covers ₹3,000 of fuel a month. Axis pays 20 points per ₹100 on up to ₹5,000 of IndianOil fuel a calendar month, at most 1,000 points. Fuel above either cap earns nothing extra.
What changed on these cards recently?
HDFC added a ₹50 fee on cashback redemption from 1 August 2024 and, from 15 May 2026, a 1.75% markup on rupee payments abroad and a ₹199 reissue fee, with IndianOil earn rates unchanged. Axis raised interest to 3.75% a month from 20 December 2024, raised its markup on rupee payments abroad to 3.5% from 28 August 2026 and tied BookMyShow to ₹25,000 of spend from 1 November 2026.

Sources

  • HDFC Bank: Part I Key Fact Statement cum Most Important Terms and Conditions (MITC), English, Version 4.18; Terms & Conditions – Indian Oil HDFC Bank Credit Card; IndianOil HDFC Bank Credit Card Fees & Charges; Credit Card Fee Waiver Condition (Pricing MID for Oct 2026); IndianOil HDFC Bank Credit Card (product page)
  • Axis Bank: INDIAN OIL AXIS BANK CREDIT CARD Terms and Conditions; Most Important Terms and Conditions (MITC), PDF dated 8 October 2026; Key Fact Sheet (schedule of charges), last updated 8 October 2026; IndianOil Axis Bank Credit Card page
  • Business Today: New rules for Axis Bank credit cards valid from December 20

Last verified: 5 November 2026

Written by Rashmi Mandana, reviewed by BankCreds Financial Experts

BankCreds does not sell cards or take applications. Fees and rewards change; the bank's own terms on the day you apply are what count, and approval is the bank's decision.

Disclaimer: BankCreds.com is a loan comparison platform and does not directly lend, disburse, or provide any financial products. We aggregate and display loan offers from RBI-registered banks and NBFCs to help you make an informed decision. All loan applications are processed directly by the respective lender. Interest rates, charges, eligibility, and terms shown are indicative and subject to the lender's final assessment. Please read the lender's terms and conditions carefully before applying.