Credit Card With No Credit History: FD Cards and First Steps (2026)
With no credit history, most unsecured cards are hard to get because banks read your bureau record and there is nothing on it, but a card secured by a fixed deposit needs no score: IDFC FIRST WOW! lets you spend up to 100% of an FD of ₹20,000 or more, with no joining or annual fee, and Axis Bank's MY Zone Easy starts at an FD of ₹15,000. Use it and pay in full, and you build the record banks look for; the card itself is still the bank's decision.
In short
A card against a fixed deposit is the realistic first card when your bureau file is empty, so choose one with a small minimum FD and no annual fee, then pay it in full every month to build a history.
Best for
- Students and first-jobbers with no loan or card on their bureau file
- Homemakers and others with savings but no income proof
- NRIs, since IDFC FIRST WOW! has a version against an NRE FD of ₹25,000
Skip it if
- You cannot spare the deposit, since the FD is held under a lien while the card is active
- You already have a poor score rather than no score; read the low CIBIL score guide
Highlights
- A CRIF report shows NH (No History) when there is no data on you
- IDFC FIRST WOW!: FD from ₹20,000, limit 100% of it, no joining or annual fee
- Axis Bank MY Zone Easy: FD from ₹15,000, limit 80% to 90%, no minimum credit score
- Kotak Dream Different: FD from ₹10,000, limit 80% of it per the MITC
- A new card cannot be reported to bureaus before you activate it
Who can apply for these cards
| Card | Fees | Age (salaried) | Published minimum income | Documents |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FIRST WOW! Credit Card IDFC FIRST Bank | Nil joining and annual | 18 to 80 years | No income proof required | Not published by the bank |
| FIRST EA₹N Credit Card IDFC FIRST Bank | ₹499 + GST joining and annual | 18 to 80 years | No income requirement published (FD-backed) | Aadhaar card, PAN Card |
| Axis Bank MY Zone Easy Credit Card Axis Bank | ₹500 + GST joining and annual | 18 years and above (FD page) | No income proof required; a fixed deposit with Axis Bank is needed | Aadhaar and PAN verification, Video KYC call for applicants who are not existing Axis Bank customers, Fixed deposit (lien marked) instead of income proof |
| Dream Different Credit Card Kotak Mahindra Bank (Kotak) | ₹424 + GST joining, Nil annual | 18 to 75 years (primary); add-on 18 years or above | No income proof required (card secured against a Kotak fixed deposit) | PAN (updated and operative), KYC for new customers, Kotak fixed deposit to be marked under lien |
| AU NOMO Credit Card AU Small Finance Bank (AU Bank) | ₹199 + GST joining, Nil annual | 18 to 99 years | No income proof needed (FD-backed) | No documents or income proof needed beyond the AU fixed deposit (card page FAQ) |
| BOBCARD PRIME BOBCARD | Nil joining and annual | 18 to 85 years | No income proof needed (card issued against FD) | Recent passport-size photograph, PAN card, Permanent address proof (Aadhaar, Voter ID, Passport, Driving Licence, NREGA Job Card), Bank declaration of FD lien (branch, EC number, employee signature) with Finacle screenshot of the lien marking |
| ICICI Bank Instant Platinum Credit Card ICICI Bank | Nil joining and annual | Not stated for the FD card | No income criterion stated; secured by FD | ICICI Bank Fixed Deposit (lien marked); KYC as for the FD/savings account |
| PIXEL Play Credit Card HDFC Bank | ₹500 + GST joining and annual | Not published by the bank | Not published by the bank | FD-backed route: an HDFC Bank FD booked during the application (funded from an HDFC account or by UPI for non-account holders) |
| SBI Card Unnati SBI Card | Nil joining, ₹499 + GST annual | 21 years or above (minimum). Maximum age stated as 60 years in one place and 70 years in another on SBI Card's listing page | Stable income; SBI Card says the specific minimum varies by card and does not... | PAN card (for digital KYC), Copy of Aadhaar card with first 8 digits masked, or any valid government address proof (for digital KYC), Income documents such as salary slip or income tax return may be required, depending on card eligibility and SBI Card policy, SBI fixed deposit of Rs. 25,000 or more (lien marked) |
| One Credit Card OneCard | Nil joining and annual | 18 years and above | No income proof required (per OneCard) | PAN card details, KYC as per the issuing bank, completed in the app (Federal FD route: e-KYC followed by video KYC) |
| FIRST Millennia Credit Card IDFC FIRST Bank | Nil joining and annual | At least 21 years | ₹25,000 a month | Identity proof, Income proof, KYC verification (Video KYC in the online journey) |
Starting from zero: what no credit history means
If you have never had a loan or a card, the bureaus have nothing to score. CRIF says that when it can't find any data on you, you get an "NH" report, meaning No History. Some reports also shows an exclusion code between 11 and 18 instead of a score; code 15, for example, is given when there isn't enough credit history. None of these is a bad mark. They just tell a bank it have nothing to go on.
That still matter because most unsecured cards are built for people with a record. SBI Card prefers a positive credit history and a score between 750 and 900, IndusInd wants a good CIBIL score and IDFC FIRST a healthy one for its lifetime-free cards. An empty file meets none of those asks.
The honest route
A card secured by a fixed deposit fixes the problem from the other end. The bank holds your FD as security, so it usually does not need a score or income proof to lend against it. At Axis Bank there is no minimum credit score at all for FD cards. OneCard points people who are new to credit to its FD-backed version, and IDFC FIRST pitches FD cards to students and new professionals as a route to building creditworthiness.
One rule worth knowing early: the bureaus can't be told about a new card until you have activated it. Your history begin the day the card is in use, not the day it arrives in the post. Our secured cards explainer covers how the FD lien works in more detail.
What banks and bureaus see when you are new
Under the RBI's 2025 card Directions, the issuer must judge your independent financial means and count limits you hold with other lenders. With no history, that second part are simply blank, and the first part is down to your income papers, which many first-time applicants also don't have.
How the bureaus describe you
- Experian scores run from 300 to 900, with above 750 generally seen as good.
- CRIF also uses 300 to 900, calls above 700 good, and give an NH report when it has no data on you.
- Exclusion codes from 11 to 18 on a CRIF report are not scores; 15 means insufficient credit history.
What FD-card banks say about you
The FD-card rules are written for exactly your case. Axis Bank needs no minimum score on FD cards, and its online FD journey is open only to people who neither hold nor have held a credit card. HDFC Bank's card against FD needs no income proof, employment history or credit score. IDFC FIRST markets WOW! as needing no credit history. On HDFC Bank's FD-backed Pixel Play the bank still runs a bureau check as per its policy, even though it ask for no score, so "no score needed" isn't the same as "no check".
BOBCARD PRIME needs a deposit of ₹30,000 or more and no income proof, and it leaves out only applicants marked delinquent on CIBIL. That exclusion is about a bad record, not an empty one. And remember that approval stays with the bank in every case; even a secured card can be refused, and if it is, the reasons must come to you in writing.
Cards against a fixed deposit you can apply for
These are the secured cards in our data as of 5 November 2026. Fees are plus GST. Where the bank's pages disagree, we use the MITC or the editor's ruling and say so.
| Card | Minimum FD | Credit limit | Joining and annual fee | Age |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IDFC FIRST EA₹N | ₹5,000 | 100% of the FD | ₹499 and ₹499 (joining shown as ₹0 under an offer; annual waived on ₹1 lakh spend) | 18 to 80 |
| Kotak Dream Different | ₹10,000 | 80% of the FD (MITC) | ₹424 joining, no annual fee | 18 to 75 |
| Axis Bank MY Zone Easy | ₹15,000 | 80% to 90% of the FD | ₹500 and ₹500 (Key Fact Sheet) | 18 and above |
| IDFC FIRST WOW! | ₹20,000 | 100% of the FD | Nil and nil | 18 to 80 |
| AU NOMO | ₹20,000 | Not published | ₹199 one time, free from the second year | 18 to 99 |
| SBI Card Unnati | ₹25,000 SBI FD | Not published | Nil for 4 years, then ₹499 | 21 and above |
| BOBCARD PRIME | ₹30,000 | Not published | Nil and nil | 18 to 85 |
| ICICI Bank Instant Platinum | ₹50,000 | 90% of the FD | Nil and nil | Not stated |
Reading the table
The limit is what you can actually spend, so do the sums. A ₹10,000 FD at Kotak's 80% give ₹8,000. Axis Bank's ₹15,000 minimum at 80% to 90% is ₹12,000 to ₹13,500. A ₹20,000 FD on WOW! is a ₹20,000 limit. Kotak's own app page says 90% and a 181-day FD, but the MITC says 80% and one year and a day, so we go with the MITC. ICICI Bank's documents also differ, one says ₹20,000 and 85%, the FD page and general terms say ₹50,000 and 90%, so confirm at the branch before you book the deposit.
Other first steps
SBI Card's Unnati has no online application, and its MITC lists 2.75% a month for secured cards without naming Unnati, so ask SBI Card directly. OneCard offers an FD-backed card to people new to credit, and on the Federal Bank version each further FD adds 100% of its amount to your limit. An add-on card on a parent's account is the other route, but the RBI puts all liability on the primary cardholder and none of the banks we read say how an add-on show on the add-on holder's own report, so ask before you count on it.
Steps to your first card and your first record
- See what the bureaus have on you. An NH report or an exclusion code confirms you are new to credit, not marked down. If something appear that you don't recognise, get it corrected first.
- Pick the card by deposit, limit and fee. Decide how much you can lock away, then compare the minimum FD, the share of it you can spend and the yearly fee in the options tab.
- Check the interest rate too. Axis Bank charges 3.4% a month on FD-secured cards and SBI Card 2.75% a month on its secured cards, against 3.75% a month on Kotak Dream Different and ICICI Bank Instant Platinum. IDFC FIRST sets each cardholder's rate between 0.71% and 3.85% a month. You pay none of it if you clear the full bill.
- Book the FD the way the bank wants. Most want it in your sole name. IDFC FIRST excludes joint, minor's, tax-saver and flexi deposits, Axis Bank excludes tax-saver and auto-sweep FDs and those of HUFs, trusts or companies, and AU NOMO's FD must be created for 24 months and 0 days with auto-renewal.
- Finish KYC. PAN plus an officially valid document. Non-customers at Axis Bank goes through a Video KYC call.
- Activate the card within 30 days. After that the bank must ask for your OTP consent and, if you don't give it, close the account within seven working days. Until activation nothing reaches your bureau file.
- Spend a little and pay the full bill. The interest-free period, typically up to 48 days, applies only if the previous bill was paid in full, and cash withdrawals never gets it.
Since 1 July 2026 lenders report four times a month, on the 9th, 16th and 23rd and at month end, so each paid bill reach your file soon after the next of those dates.
Building a record banks will trust
An FD card only helps if the record it creates is a good one. The rules around it make a few habits non-negotiable.
- Never pay late. A card can be reported past due, and charged a late fee, once it is more than three days overdue, counted from the due date. Set an auto-debit for the full amount so a busy month don't become a late one.
- Don't live on the minimum due. Every statement warns that paying only the minimum drags repayment over months or years with compounding interest, and the interest-free period goes once a balance is carried.
- Protect the deposit. Axis Bank holds the FD as continuing security and can encash it on default, and the FD can't be closed while the card is active. Federal Bank's FD-backed One card lets the bank liquidate the FD if dues stay unpaid at 31 days past due, from 18 May 2025. Losing the FD and getting a default on your first ever account is the worst of both.
- Keep the card alive. A card unused for more than a year can be closed after notice if you don't reply within 30 days, which end the record you were building.
- Keep the rewards. On IDFC FIRST cards, points or cashback for a cycle are cancelled if the Minimum Amount Due isn't paid by the due date.
Once your file shows a score, unsecured cards come within reach if your income clears their floor. IDFC FIRST Millennia, for example, asks ₹3 lakh a year and a healthy credit score and charge no fee. If instead the record goes wrong, our low CIBIL score guide is the next read.
Your rights as a first-time cardholder
Being new to credit don't mean having fewer rights. These RBI rules protect your first file as much as anyone's.
- No reporting before activation. A card you never switched on cannot appears on your bureau record.
- Fair default reporting. The bank has to follow its approved procedure, and tell you, before it reports any default. Disputed items are reported only after the dispute is settled, and after you settle dues the bank has to update the bureau within 30 days.
- Consent for everything. The card itself, any upgrade and any higher limit need your explicit consent. If a card you never asked for is billed without consent, the charges must be reversed and the issuer pays a penalty of twice those charges.
- Closing out cleanly. Once your dues are cleared, the bank has seven working days to close the card when you ask, and it owes you ₹500 for each calendar day of delay if nothing is outstanding. Any credit balance left goes to your bank account.
- Lost card, quick block. The bank must block a lost card as soon as you report it, through 24x7 channels such as a helpline, SMS, app or website, and confirm the block.
Mistakes do happen on bureau files: SBI Card found an error in the data it sent to bureaus on 11 July 2026 and had it fixed by 14 July 2026. If a bank's error hurts your new record and its grievance officer don't fix it in 30 days, take it to the RBI Ombudsman; the bank must compensate for losses its fault caused.
Pros and cons
Pros
- FD-backed cards need no credit score; Axis Bank says so outright for its FD cards
- IDFC FIRST WOW! has no joining or annual fee and a limit of 100% of the FD
- Minimum deposits start low: ₹5,000 on IDFC FIRST EA₹N and ₹10,000 on Kotak Dream Different
- A secured card builds a bureau record once activated, like any other card
- Age limits are wide, from 18 up to 80 on WOW! and 85 on BOBCARD PRIME
Cons
- The deposit stays locked: at Axis Bank the FD cannot be closed while the card is active
- Limits are capped by the FD, so ₹10,000 at Kotak's 80% is only ₹8,000
- Axis Bank MY Zone Easy charges ₹500 a year and Kotak Dream Different ₹424 to join
- A default can cost you the deposit; Federal Bank's One card can liquidate it at 31 days past due
- Kotak's and ICICI Bank's own pages give different FD terms, so you must confirm before booking
Frequently asked questions
Can I get a credit card with no credit history in India?
What does an NH credit report mean?
Which FD credit card needs the smallest deposit?
Does an FD-backed credit card build my credit score?
Can a student get a credit card without income?
Is an add-on card a good way to start a credit history?
Related
- Secured Credit Cards Explained: FD-Backed Limits, Costs and Catches
- Credit Card With a Low CIBIL Score: What Banks Check, What Works (2026)
- Credit Card Eligibility Criteria in India: Age, Income, Score (2026)
- Best Beginner Credit Cards in India 2026: Low Income Floors and FD Routes
- FIRST WOW! Credit Card Review: FD-Backed, Zero Forex, Points Abroad
Sources
- IDFC FIRST Bank: Most Important Terms & Conditions - Credit Cards (MITC and Schedule of Charges)
- Axis Bank: Key Fact Sheet (schedule of charges), last updated 8 October 2026
- Business Today: New rules for Axis Bank credit cards valid from December 20
- Kotak Mahindra Bank: Key Fact Statement - Dream Different Credit Card (version KFSDD04062026)
- AU Small Finance Bank: Most Important Terms and Conditions (MITC) with Schedule of Charges, Version 2.23
- BOBCARD Limited: BOBCARD Product Features - Important Terms & Conditions (file dated 02-11-2026)
- ICICI Bank Limited: Most Important Terms and Conditions (MITC), credit cards
- HDFC Bank: Key Fact Statement cum Most Important Terms & Conditions for PIXEL Credit Cards
- SBI Cards and Payment Services Ltd: Most Important Terms & Conditions (PDF 'MITC- Common-30OCT26', Ver FY 27, 16)
- Federal Bank (document hosted by OneCard): Federal Bank One Co-Branded Credit Card Key Fact Statement
Last verified: 5 November 2026
Written by Ramesh Kulkarni, reviewed by BankCreds Financial Experts
BankCreds does not sell cards or take applications. Fees and rewards change; the bank's own terms on the day you apply are what count, and approval is the bank's decision.