How to Apply for a Credit Card Online: Steps, Video KYC, Checks (2026)
To apply for a credit card online, pick a card whose published rules you meet, start from the bank's own website or app (or the partner's app for some co-brands), give your consent, finish Aadhaar e-sign or Video KYC, and wait for the bank's decision. Many banks issue a virtual card first, and if you do not activate the card within 30 days, the bank must ask for your consent again or close it free of cost.
In short
Apply through the bank's own channel, read the Key Fact Statement before you consent, keep your PAN and an officially valid document ready for Video KYC, and remember the decision is the bank's alone.
Best for
- First-time applicants who want the process step by step
- Anyone choosing between a bank website, a bank app and a partner app
- People who want to know which cards cannot be applied for online
Skip it if
- You first need to know whether you qualify; start with our eligibility criteria guide
- Your credit score is low; our low-score guide covers that route first
Highlights
- The bank must give a one-page Key Fact Statement with the application
- Consent must be explicit, written or digital with multi-factor checks
- Video KYC is treated on par with face-to-face KYC
- An unactivated card must be closed free if you don't confirm after 30 days
- RBL Bank says processing takes up to 20 days once KYC is complete
Who can apply for these cards
| Card | Fees | Age (salaried) | Published minimum income | Documents |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon Pay ICICI Bank Credit Card ICICI Bank | Nil joining and annual | Indian citizen, minimum age 21 | ₹30,000 a month | Proof of identity, Proof of address, Income proof |
| Airtel Axis Bank Credit Card Axis Bank | ₹500 + GST joining and annual | 18 to 70 years | Not stated on the card page | PAN card photocopy, Colour photograph, Income proof: latest payslip, bank statement, Form 16 or IT return, Residence proof: passport, driving licence, voter ID or Aadhaar, Identity proof: passport, driving licence, voter ID, Aadhaar or PAN |
| Scapia Federal Credit Card Federal Bank | Nil joining and annual | Not published by the bank | Not published by the bank | Not published by the bank |
| One Credit Card OneCard | Nil joining and annual | 18 years and above | No income proof required (per OneCard) | PAN card details, KYC as per the issuing bank, completed in the app (Federal FD route: e-KYC followed by video KYC) |
| Dream Different Credit Card Kotak Mahindra Bank (Kotak) | ₹424 + GST joining, Nil annual | 18 to 75 years (primary); add-on 18 years or above | No income proof required (card secured against a Kotak fixed deposit) | PAN (updated and operative), KYC for new customers, Kotak fixed deposit to be marked under lien |
| PIXEL Play Credit Card HDFC Bank | ₹500 + GST joining and annual | Not published by the bank | Not published by the bank | FD-backed route: an HDFC Bank FD booked during the application (funded from an HDFC account or by UPI for non-account holders) |
| HSBC Premier Credit Card HSBC India | ₹12,000 + GST joining, ₹20,000 + GST annual | Not stated | Must be an existing HSBC qualified Premier customer | Not published by the bank |
| ICICI Bank Emeralde Private Metal Credit Card ICICI Bank | ₹12,499 + GST joining and annual | 21 to 65 years (FAQ) | Not published (invite only) | Proof of identity, Proof of address, Income proof |
| Kotak White Credit Card Kotak Mahindra Bank (Kotak) | ₹3,000 + GST joining and annual | 28 to 60 years (primary); add-on 18 years or above | ₹25 lakh and above per annum | Identity proof, Age proof, Address proof, Income proof or employment details, PAN Card, Online application: Name, Phone Number, PAN and Aadhaar, then Video KYC (VKYC) |
| SBI Card Unnati SBI Card | Nil joining, ₹499 + GST annual | 21 years or above (minimum). Maximum age stated as 60 years in one place and 70 years in another on SBI Card's listing page | Stable income; SBI Card says the specific minimum varies by card and does not... | PAN card (for digital KYC), Copy of Aadhaar card with first 8 digits masked, or any valid government address proof (for digital KYC), Income documents such as salary slip or income tax return may be required, depending on card eligibility and SBI Card policy, SBI fixed deposit of Rs. 25,000 or more (lien marked) |
| Platinum Rewards Credit Card Standard Chartered | Nil joining and annual | 21 to 65 years | ₹20,000 a month | Identity proof (passport, Voter ID, government ID etc.), PAN card, Address proof (Aadhaar, passport, driving licence, Voter ID, NREGA job card, NPR letter), 1 recent passport-size photograph, Salaried: latest one month salary slip, Self-employed businessmen: latest IT returns with computation of income or certified financials, business continuity proof, Self-employed professionals: latest IT returns, business continuity proof |
Applying online, in plain terms
Most Indian banks now let you apply for a credit card without stepping into a branch. You fill a form on the bank's website or app, verify your mobile number by OTP, share PAN and Aadhaar details and finish a live Video KYC call. If the bank approve, many issue a virtual card straight away and post the physical card afterwards.
The order differ a little from bank to bank. Axis Bank's form asks you to choose the card, enter your mobile number and PAN or date of birth, check eligibility and offers, then verify by OTP. BOBCARD has you e-sign using Aadhaar before the Video KYC. IndusInd's Indus Easy Credit takes basic details, a card offer and a digital signature, then Video KYC.
Some things stay the same wherever you apply. The bank must hand you a Key Fact Statement, your consent has to be explicit, and the decision belongs to the bank, never to an agent or an app. Before you start, check you meet the published age and income rules; our eligibility criteria guide have them bank by bank, and the documents guide lists what to keep ready.
How long it takes varies: RBL Bank says processing can run up to 20 days once KYC and details are complete, while IndusInd issues a virtual card on approval and posts the physical one in about 5 days.
What the RBI requires of an online application
Online or not, card issuance falls under the RBI's 2025 credit card Directions, updated as on 1 October 2026. Several of its rules matters most in a digital journey.
- Key Fact Statement first. Issuers must give a one-page Key Fact Statement with the application, covering the interest rate and charges. They must also quote annualised rates (APR) and show the APR and the annual fee with equal prominence.
- Consent that is explicit. A card can be issued only with your explicit consent, in writing or digitally with multi-factor authentication. Consent cannot be implied, so a sales call that end with a promise to send the card doesn't count.
- KYC by video. The RBI's KYC Directions let banks identify you through a Video based Customer Identification Process, a live and consent-based call with an authorised official, and the bank treat it on par with face-to-face KYC.
- Why an OTP isn't enough. An account opened only through non-face-to-face Aadhaar OTP e-KYC may carry term loans alone, up to ₹60,000 a year. A card is revolving credit, so the app take you through full KYC or the video call instead.
- Only the bank decides. Agents such as DSAs and DMAs may only solicit and service; the decision to issue a card stays with the issuer.
- No surprise cards. Unsolicited cards and upgrades are prohibited, and an issuer cannot raise your credit limit without your explicit consent.
- Network choice. Under an RBI circular of 6 March 2024, issuers with more than 10 lakh active cards must let eligible customers choose among card networks at issue; we have not confirmed how it stands after the November 2025 consolidation.
RBL Bank is one issuer that says it plainly: you can pick Mastercard, RuPay or Visa where a card comes on several networks. The choice matter if you want UPI, since only RuPay credit cards can be linked to UPI.
Where each bank lets you apply
Start from the bank's own channel, or from the partner's app when the bank itself sends you there. The table sum up what each issuer published as of 5 November 2026.
| Issuer | Online route | Other routes |
|---|---|---|
| SBI Card | Website (eApply) or the chatbot ILA | Helpline or nearest SBI branch; SBI FD holders can get secured Advantage cards on the YONO app (since 23 September 2026) |
| HDFC Bank | Website, Apply Now on each card page; FD-backed Pixel cards in the PayZapp app | Branch, though HDFC says a visit is not mandatory |
| ICICI Bank | Website (upload KYC and income documents) or the iMobile app | Partner sites for co-brands; FD cards through iMobile, Net Banking or a branch |
| Axis Bank | Website form or the Axis Mobile app; FD cards by booking an FD online | Branch; partner apps for some co-brands, such as the Airtel Thanks app for Airtel Axis |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | Website, with Video KYC and a virtual card | Branch or bank representatives; Dream Different through the Kotak811 app or website |
| IDFC FIRST Bank | Website or app, fully digital with Video KYC | Branch |
| IndusInd Bank | Indus Easy Credit, with digital signature and Video KYC | Not stated in our data |
| BOBCARD | Online form, Aadhaar e-sign, then Video KYC | Bank of Baroda's bob World and bob iPay apps for a RuPay BOBCARD |
| HSBC India | Website with Video KYC | Phone or branch; Premier card only for HSBC Premier customers |
| Standard Chartered | Some cards only, such as Platinum Rewards with Video KYC | Smart, Ultimate and Rewards: nearest branch or contact centre |
| RBL Bank | Apply Now on card pages; Aadhaar e-KYC, Video KYC, biometric or offline KYC | Not stated in our data |
| AU Small Finance Bank | Apply Now on each card page; status can be tracked online | Support at branches and in AU's mobile app |
| OneCard | OneCard app only; you choose the issuing bank in the app | None |
Cards you cannot apply for online
Some cards simply doesn't have an online door. ICICI Bank's Emeralde Private Metal and 1838 Reserve are invite-only. Kotak's White and White Reserve carry no online Apply button, being linked to a programme or relationship manager. SBI Card's Unnati, an FD card, sits in the listing without an Apply button, and HSBC's Premier card is for Premier banking customers only. American Express says it is temporarily not accepting new applications in India, with no reopening date.
Partner apps and co-brands
For many co-brands the partner is the front door. ICICI routes Amazon Pay ICICI through Amazon and MakeMyTrip cards through the MakeMyTrip app or site, Airtel Axis goes through the Airtel Thanks app and Scapia Federal through the Scapia app. The bank still issues the card, and RBI rules says the partner may only market and distribute it, without seeing your transaction data.
Step by step: a typical online application
- Shortlist one card. Choose a card whose published age and income rules you meet, and look at its fee and waiver. Applying to one bank at a time keep the process easy to track.
- Open the bank's own page. Go to the card page on the bank's website or app and use its Apply button, or the partner app the bank names. A link in a random message is not the bank's channel.
- Enter the basics and verify by OTP. Mobile number, PAN and date of birth, then usually your employer or business details and income. RBL's form, for example, asks you to declare your net monthly income.
- Read the Key Fact Statement. Check the joining and annual fee, whether GST is extra, the monthly and annual interest and the late fee before you agrees. GST on card fees and charges is 18%.
- Give consent and e-sign. Consent must be explicit; BOBCARD's journey, for instance, has you e-sign using Aadhaar.
- Finish KYC. Most journeys ends in a Video KYC call with a bank official, so keep your physical PAN card and one officially valid document beside you.
- Book the FD, if it is a secured card. Axis, IDFC FIRST and HDFC let you open the deposit inside the application; HDFC's FD-backed Pixel can be funded from an HDFC account, or by UPI if you don't bank with HDFC.
- Wait for the decision. If approved, many banks issue a virtual card first. OneCard sends its metal card in 5 to 7 business days, and IndusInd's physical card arrives in about 5 days.
- Activate within 30 days. If you don't, the bank must seek your OTP consent, and without it close the account free of cost within seven working days of asking.
Don't rush step four. The KFS is the one page where every cost of the card sit together, and walking away before consent is easier than closing a card later.
How to give your application a fair chance
Nothing on this page can make a bank say yes. What you can do is avoid the rejections that has nothing to do with you as a borrower.
- Know the bank-specific blocks. Axis Bank's online FD journey is not open to anyone who holds or has held any credit card. HDFC's FD-backed Pixel is only for people without an HDFC Bank credit card, and ICICI allows only one secured card per customer.
- Check your city. HSBC offers cards only to residents of 21 listed cities, Standard Chartered only in its sourcing cities, and OneCard's metal card is in 67+ cities.
- Keep details consistent. The name and date of birth on your PAN, your Aadhaar and your form should match. Fix any mismatch before you apply, not in the middle of the video call when the official are waiting.
- Pick a quiet time for Video KYC. It is a live call with an official, so good light, a steady connection and your original documents save you a second attempt.
- Treat offers as a bonus. HSBC gives a ₹250 Amazon eGift voucher for online applications completed with Video KYC between 1 January 2026 and 31 March 2027. Nice, but never a reason to pick a card.
- Read the refusal before reapplying. If one bank says no, its written reasons tells you what to fix; sending the same application elsewhere rarely solves the cause.
If your score is the problem, the route is different, and our low CIBIL score guide start with FD-backed cards. Self-employed? Read the self-employed guide before you fill in the income section.
Your rights after you click apply
- Reasons in writing. If the bank rejects you, it must comes back with the specific reasons, in writing.
- No reporting before activation. A new card account cannot be reported to the credit bureaus until you activate the card.
- Free exit from an unwanted card. If you neither activate the card within 30 days nor confirm by OTP, the bank closes the account at no cost within seven working days. Later on, a closure request must be honoured within seven working days once dues is paid, or the bank pays you ₹500 for each calendar day of delay when nothing is outstanding.
- Know the cancellation fees. RBI rules bar any charge not disclosed at issue, so early-exit fees sit in the terms. Kotak's Dream Different charges ₹170 if cancelled within 90 days of issuance (from 1 September 2026), and OneCard charges ₹3,000 for a metal card or ₹500 for plastic if you cancel within six months of virtual card activation.
- Calls at fair hours. Telemarketing calls are allowed only between 10:00 and 19:00 under the RBI's rules.
- A billing date that suits you. You can change your billing cycle at least once, picking any date for it to start or close.
- Somewhere to escalate. If the bank doesn't answer a complaint within 30 days, or the answer does not satisfy you, the RBI Ombudsman take it from there.
Keep the KFS, the consent message and the approval or rejection letter in one folder; if anything goes wrong early on, those three papers tells the story.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Many banks in our data run a fully digital journey that ends in Video KYC
- The Key Fact Statement shows interest and charges before you consent
- Video KYC counts the same as face-to-face KYC under RBI rules
- An unactivated card is closed at no cost if you don't confirm it
Cons
- Some cards are invite-only or branch-only, such as ICICI Emeralde Private Metal and Kotak White
- American Express is not accepting new applications in India for now
- RBL Bank says processing can take up to 20 days
- Axis Bank's online FD journey is closed to anyone who holds or has held a credit card
- Kotak's Dream Different charges ₹170 if cancelled within 90 days of issuance
Frequently asked questions
How do I apply for a credit card online in India?
Is Video KYC compulsory for an online credit card application?
How long does an online credit card application take?
Which credit cards cannot be applied for online?
Is it safe to apply for a credit card through an agent or a link?
What happens if I don't activate my new credit card?
Related
- Documents Required for a Credit Card in India: KYC, Income, FD (2026)
- Credit Card Eligibility Criteria in India: Age, Income, Score (2026)
- Credit Card With a Low CIBIL Score: What Banks Check, What Works (2026)
- Card finder and comparison guide
- Credit Cards in India 2026: Choose by Spend, Know the Costs and Rules
Sources
- ICICI Bank Limited: Most Important Terms and Conditions (MITC), Amazon Pay ICICI Bank Credit Card
- Axis Bank: Most Important Terms and Conditions (MITC), PDF dated 8 October 2026
- Business Today: New rules for Axis Bank credit cards valid from December 20
- Federal Bank (document hosted by Scapia): Federal Scapia Credit Card Most Important Terms & Conditions (Nov 2024 version)
- Scapia Technology Pvt. Ltd. (co-brand partner): Scapia homepage
- Scapia Technology Pvt. Ltd.: Scapia Launches 'Scapia Pay' to Turn Everyday UPI Payments into Travel Rewards (press release)
- Federal Bank (document hosted by OneCard): Federal Bank One Co-Branded Credit Card Key Fact Statement
- SBM Bank India (document hosted by OneCard): Key Fact Statement – SBM One co-branded Credit Card
- BOBCARD Limited (document hosted by OneCard): The BOBCARD One co-branded Credit Card Most Important Terms and Conditions (MITC)
- CSB Bank (document hosted by OneCard): Key Fact Statement – CSB One Co-Branded Credit Card
Last verified: 5 November 2026
Written by Anjali Bhargawa, reviewed by BankCreds Financial Experts
BankCreds does not sell cards or take applications. Fees and rewards change; the bank's own terms on the day you apply are what count, and approval is the bank's decision.