Freo App Reviews, Customer Care Number & Details

Credit line and personal loan app with amounts up to Rs 5 lakh and flexible withdrawals.

This Freo app review covers interest rates, eligibility, charges, documents and real borrower feedback, along with the verified Freo customer care number, WhatsApp channel and support email — plus the RBI grievance route if a complaint is not resolved in 30 days.

FINTECHNo CIBIL NeededCredit LineZero PrepaymentZero ForeclosureRBI Regulated
Reviewed by BankCreds App Review Team· App Review Analysts Updated 14 June 2026

Freo, formerly MoneyTap, is a credit-led neobank whose core product is a personal credit line — you're approved for a limit, draw what you need, and pay interest only on the amount you use. It holds its own RBI NBFC licence and lends through bank and NBFC partners.

This review covers what a Freo line really costs across its 13–36% band, how the draw-only structure works, and where the neobank rebrand leaves borrowers.

Quick Facts

4.4★ · 2L

Play Store

₹5L

Max Loan

13.00% – 36.00% p.a.

Interest Rate

Within minutes

Disbursal

3 – 36 months

Tenure

Up to 7% + tax per withdrawal, plus an Annual Line Setup Fee of up to ₹999 + GST

Processing Fee

Rs 30,000 per month

Min Income

Play Store rating sourced from Google Play, as of 3 Oct 2026. Other figures from the lender's official disclosures.

Our Ratings

Disbursal speed 3.5/5

Quick credit decisions and disbursal within minutes, though some users report post-merger delays.

Interest & cost 3.0/5

A genuine 13% floor for clean profiles, but most land higher, up to 36%, plus a 2–3.5% per-draw fee.

App experience 3.5/5

A clean app rated around 4.3★ on iOS; the draw-only model is well liked.

Customer support 2.5/5

Some users report payment-reflection delays and slow support after the Freo rebrand.

Safety & transparency 3.5/5

Holds its own RBI NBFC licence and lends via regulated partners (RBL Bank historically).

Loan Details & Charges

Loan Amount Rs 3,000 – Rs 5,00,000
Interest Rate 13.00% – 36.00% p.a.
Tenure 3 – 36 months
Processing Fee Up to 7% + tax per withdrawal, plus an Annual Line Setup Fee of up to ₹999 + GST
Late Payment Penalty on overdue amount
Prepayment No prepayment charges
Foreclosure No foreclosure charges

Eligibility Criteria

Age 23-55 years
Min Income Rs 30,000 per month
CIBIL Score Not required
Employment salaried
Documents PAN Card, Aadhaar Card, Bank statement access

What It Actually Costs

Loan amount ₹1,00,000 drawn
Tenure 24 months
Monthly EMI ₹5,288
Total interest ₹26,912
Processing fee 2%–3.5% (~₹3,000) + GST, on the draw
Total repayment ₹1,26,912

Illustrative at a ~24% rate on a single draw. Interest applies only to what you draw, not the full limit. Your actual rate (13%–36%) depends on your profile — confirm before drawing.

Try the Freo EMI calculator

Pros

  • A genuine credit line — pay interest only on the amount you draw
  • A high limit up to ₹5 lakh, with small minimum draws
  • A reasonable 13% floor for clean-profile borrowers
  • Holds its own RBI NBFC licence and lends via regulated partners
  • A clean, well-rated app and a useful standby line

Cons

  • The "as low as 12–13%" rate is a best case — most pay more, up to 36%
  • A 2–3.5% processing fee applies to each draw, so frequent withdrawals stack fees
  • Some users report disbursal and payment-reflection delays since the rebrand
  • Needs ₹30,000/month income — higher than many app lenders
  • Customer support draws complaints

Our Verdict

Freo (formerly MoneyTap) is one of the better-designed credit-line products: a limit up to ₹5 lakh, with interest charged only on what you actually draw. For a clean-profile borrower who wants a standby line rather than a lump-sum loan, that's genuinely useful, and it holds its own RBI NBFC licence with bank-partner backing. The honest caveats: the advertised "as low as 12–13%" is a best case — most borrowers land higher, up to 36% — and a 2–3.5% fee applies to each draw, so churning small withdrawals stacks fees. Some users also report disbursal and payment-reflection delays since the Freo rebrand. A good standby line if you qualify near the floor and draw deliberately.

Who Freo suits

Salaried or self-employed earners (₹30,000+/month) with decent credit
People who want a standby revolving line rather than a lump-sum loan
Borrowers who value paying interest only on what they use
Those who draw deliberately rather than churning small withdrawals

Look elsewhere if

You expect the headline 12–13% automatically — many land at 24–36%
You make many small redraws — the per-draw fee repeats each time
You need guaranteed instant disbursal, or earn below ₹30,000/month

Things to Watch

  • The "as low as 12–13%" headline is a best case — most borrowers pay more, up to 36%, so confirm your actual rate
  • A 2–3.5% processing fee applies to each draw, so frequent small withdrawals quietly stack fees
  • Some users report disbursal and payment-reflection delays since the MoneyTap-to-Freo rebrand — keep proof of payments

How to Apply for Freo

  1. 1

    Register in the app

    Download the Freo app and sign up with your mobile and email.

  2. 2

    Enter income and employment

    Provide your details (income from ₹30,000/month, age 23–55).

  3. 3

    Complete KYC

    Verify PAN and Aadhaar and add income proof; get a credit-limit decision.

  4. 4

    Draw funds

    Draw what you need from your limit to your bank account, and repay in EMIs over 2–36 months.

Documents Required

PAN card
Aadhaar (for KYC and address)
Bank statements or salary slips (income proof)
A selfie/photograph

What Real Users Say

Freo (formerly MoneyTap) rates around 4.3★ on the App Store; the live Play Store figure is best verified directly.

Praise for convenience and the draw-only model; criticism on cost and support reliability.

What users love

Borrowers like the clean app, easy requests, and paying interest only on what they use.

Common complaints

Some users report high rates, payment-reflection delays, and weaker support since the rebrand.

How Freo Compares

vs Stashfin — Stashfin also offers a credit line but often serves thinner profiles at higher rates; Freo's 13% floor and bank backing can undercut it for clean borrowers.

vs LazyPay — LazyPay is built around BNPL checkout credit; Freo offers a much larger genuine ₹5 lakh personal credit line for bigger flexible borrowing.

vs KreditBee — KreditBee targets fast small-ticket loans for younger, lower-income users; Freo wants a higher-income borrower and gives a reusable line.

How we tested

We reviewed Freo's published rates and credit-line mechanics, confirmed its RBI NBFC licence and historical lending partners (RBL Bank and others), tracked the MoneyTap-to-Freo neobank rebrand, and read recent borrower feedback across app stores. The current per-product co-lending roster is not fully published; conduct complaints are user-reported. Confirm your rate and per-draw fees before borrowing.

Freo (MoneyTap) Customer Support Details

Freo, previously MoneyTap, does not publish a general customer care phone number — support runs through the app and email instead. Its grievance contact is a named individual rather than a department alias, which in practice often means faster responses to written escalations than a generic support queue provides.

Freo (MoneyTap) customer care number NA
Freo (MoneyTap) WhatsApp number NA
Freo (MoneyTap) customer support email ID hello@freo.money
Freo (MoneyTap) grievance officer email anjali@freo.money

Verified from Freo (MoneyTap)'s official contact or grievance page on 2026-09-13. Companies change helplines without notice — cross-check inside the app before calling, and never share an OTP, PIN or card details with anyone claiming to be support. All lender, bank & insurer contacts →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Freo the same as MoneyTap?
Yes — MoneyTap rebranded to Freo, and the credit line is now "Freo Credit," run by the same RBI-licensed NBFC.
What interest will I actually pay on Freo?
Between 13% and 36% p.a. plus a 2%–3.5% processing fee. The advertised low rate is a best-case offer; many borrowers pay more.
Do I pay interest on the full ₹5 lakh limit?
No — interest applies only to the amount you draw, not the unused limit. That's the main advantage of the credit-line structure.
Is Freo RBI-approved?
Yes — it holds its own RBI NBFC licence and lends through regulated bank and NBFC partners (RBL Bank was its founding partner).
What's the minimum income and age for Freo?
A minimum income of about ₹30,000/month and age 23–55, with KYC and income proof required even though a prior CIBIL score isn't mandatory.
Is Freo RBI registered?
Lending in India can only be done by an RBI-regulated bank or NBFC, but many loan apps are not themselves the lender — they are digital lending platforms operating for a partner NBFC. To verify for yourself: open the app and find the lender name it is required to disclose, then search that exact name in the RBI's public list of registered NBFCs on rbi.org.in. If an app will not tell you which regulated entity is lending you the money, treat that as a reason not to borrow from it.
What is the Freo customer care number?
Freo does not publish a general customer care phone number publicly. Raise queries through the in-app support or help section, where your loan account is already linked, or use the contact details shown on its official website. Never call a number found in a search snippet, social media reply or directory listing without verifying it against the app itself.
How do I file a complaint against Freo?
Work the escalation ladder in order. First, raise the complaint with Freo support (hello@freo.money) and insist on a written complaint reference number — a call with no reference number effectively did not happen. If it is unresolved, escalate to the grievance redressal officer at anjali@freo.money. The regulated entity has 30 days to resolve it. After that, you can complain free of cost to the RBI Ombudsman at cms.rbi.org.in — no lawyer is needed, and the decision is binding on the lender.
How do I stop harassment calls from Freo recovery agents?
RBI's rules on recovery conduct are specific: agents may not call before 8 a.m. or after 7 p.m., may not use threats, abuse or intimidation, and may not contact people from your phonebook to shame you. Blanket access to your contacts and photos is prohibited for digital lenders. If this is happening, save the evidence — call logs, screenshots, recordings — and complain to the lender's grievance officer (anjali@freo.money), then to the RBI Ombudsman at cms.rbi.org.in if it continues. If the app is not a regulated entity at all, report it on the RBI Sachet portal (sachet.rbi.org.in) and to the cyber-crime helpline 1930 or cybercrime.gov.in. Harassment, morphed images and contact-list shaming are criminal offences regardless of whether you owe money.

Download Freo

Get instant loan in minutes

Apply Now

Compare With

Compare Apps

All Loan App Reviews

See how Freo stacks up against every other instant loan app we've reviewed — compare ratings, max loan and rates side by side.

Rank App Rating Max Loan Rate Review
1

Bajaj Finserv

4.6 ₹55L 10.00% – 30.50% p.a. Read Review
2

Navi

4.6 ₹20L 9.90% – 29.00% p.a. Read Review
3

Orrish

Orrish Finance Private Limited

4.6 ₹7L 12% – 30% p.a. on personal loans (Play); up to 1% per day on loans of up to 90 days Read Review
4

FlexiLoans Business Loan

4.58 ₹50L 12% – 28% p.a. (official: 'from 1%/month'; ceiling unpublished) Read Review
5

KreditBee

KrazyBee Services Limited (NBFC) plus partner lenders: Northern Arc Capital, MAS Financial Services, PayU Finance India, Kisetsu Saison Finance, Piramal Finance, Cholamandalam, Mirae Asset Financial S

4.5 ₹10L 12.00% – 28.50% p.a. Read Review
6

MoneyView

Multiple partner NBFCs/banks: Whizdm Finance Pvt Ltd (Moneyview group NBFC), Aditya Birla Finance, DMI Finance, Clix Capital, Kisetsu Saison Finance, SMFG India Credit, Piramal Capital & Housing Finan

4.5 ₹10L 14.00% – 24.00% p.a. Read Review
7

Home Credit

Home Credit India Finance Pvt. Ltd. (NBFC; subsidiary of TVS Holdings Ltd.)

4.5 ₹4.8L 19.20% – 44.00% p.a. Read Review
8

Fibe

NBFC partners

4.5 ₹10L 18.00% – 36.00% p.a. Read Review
9

Piramal Finance

Piramal Finance Limited (formerly Piramal Capital & Housing Finance Limited)

4.5 ₹25L 12.99% – 24.00% p.a. Read Review
10

True Balance

True Credits Private Limited (group NBFC) plus partner NBFCs: Grow Money Capital, InCred Financial Services, Vivriti Capital, Northern Arc, OXYZO Financial Services

4.5 ₹2L 28.80% – 36.00% p.a. Read Review
11

LendingPlate

Unifinz Capital India Limited (NBFC, RBI CoR 14.00233)

4.5 ₹2.5L 12% – 30% p.a. Read Review
12

mPokket

mPokket Financial Services Private Limited (NBFC; LSP/app owner: Maybright Ventures Private Limited)

4.4 ₹2L 22.00% – 36.00% p.a. Read Review
13

LazyPay

NBFC partners

4.4 ₹5L 18.00% – 32.00% p.a. Read Review
14

Kissht

SiCreva Capital Services Pvt. Ltd. (OnEMI/Kissht group NBFC) plus financing partners (logos: Aditya Birla, Mirae Asset Financial Services, Northern Arc, Piramal, SMFG, Suryoday, Utkarsh, Vivriti, MAS)

4.4 ₹5L 14.00% – 30.00% p.a. Read Review
15

Freo

Multiple partners: Kisetsu Saison Finance (India) Pvt Ltd, SMFG India Credit, InCred Finance, RBL Bank, Apollo Finvest (India) Ltd, Cholamandalam, Lendbox, Komac Investments & Finance, Aspire Finance,

4.4 ₹5L 13.00% – 36.00% p.a. You're here
16

Nira

Multiple NBFC partners (LSP model): Northern Arc Capital, Niyogin Fintech, Avanti Finance, PayU Finance, Trillion Loans (formerly BharatPe-linked), Komac Investments and Finance (KIFPL); NIRA = Shuhar

4.4 ₹1L 24.00% – 36.00% p.a. Read Review
17

CreditSea

Partner NBFCs: Chhotaria Securities Pvt Ltd (NBFC Reg B-05.04798), Meghdoot Mercantile Pvt Ltd (B-05.03357), CP Capital Ltd, TapStart Capital Pvt Ltd, Coffers Finvest Ltd (formerly GSB Finance). Credi

4.4 ₹2L 14% – 36% p.a. Read Review
18

CASHe

Bhanix Finance and Investment Limited (NBFC)

4.3 ₹3L 33.50% – 36.00% p.a. Read Review
19

FlexSalary

Vivifi India Finance Private Limited (RBI CoR N-09.00447)

4.3 ₹3L 18.00% – 42.00% p.a. Read Review
20

OLYV

Multiple partner NBFCs (homepage logos: InCred, Northern Arc, PayU Finance, Poonawalla Fincorp, Upmove, Vivriti Capital); platform is SmartCoin Financials Pvt. Ltd.

4.3 ₹5L 18.00% – 36.00% p.a. Read Review
21

My Money Bazaar

Bansal In Hold Limited (also Aasra Fincorp Private Limited)

4.3 ₹5L 0.077% – 0.10% a day in Play examples (28.1% – 36.5% a year); APR up to 115.03% Read Review
22

CashPey

Naman Commodities Private Limited

4.3 ₹5L 18% – 36% p.a. (Play listing); APR up to 50% Read Review
23

RING Power Loan

Si-Creva Capital Services Pvt Ltd (in-house, RBI reg N-13.02129), Northern Arc Capital, MAS Financial Services, Utkarsh Small Finance Bank

4.3 ₹5L 32% – 57% p.a. Read Review
24

Stashfin

Akara Capital Advisors Private Limited (NBFC); co-lending partners Cholamandalam Investment and Finance Co Ltd, Northern Arc Capital Ltd, Oxyzo Financial Services Pvt Ltd

4.2 ₹5L 11.99% – 59.99% p.a. Read Review
25

PayRupik

Sayyam Investments Pvt. Ltd. (RBI-registered NBFC)

4.2 ₹2.5L 20.00% – 36.00% p.a. Read Review
26

Hero FinCorp

Hero FinCorp Limited (NBFC, lends directly)

4.2 ₹7L 18% p.a. onwards (no published cap) Read Review
27

ATM Cred

Swastik Finance Limited

4.1 ₹1L 18% – 36% APR (Play); up to 3% per month (lender page) Read Review
28

Pocketly

Speel Finance Company Private Limited (NBFC; owns and operates Pocketly)

4.1 ₹50,000 24% – 36% p.a. (all-in APR up to ~132% with fees, per third-party listings) Read Review
29

HDFC Bank Pre-approved Personal Loan (Insta)

HDFC Bank Limited (scheduled private sector bank)

4 ₹50L 9.99% – 24.00% p.a. Read Review
30

ICICI Bank Personal Loan

ICICI Bank Limited (scheduled private sector bank)

4 ₹50L 9.99% – 16.50% p.a. Read Review
31

Axis Bank Instant Loan

Axis Bank Limited (scheduled private-sector bank; lends directly)

4 ₹50L 9.99% – 22.00% p.a. Read Review
32

Dhan Pocket

Pawansut Holdings Limited (named by Dhan Pocket; the NBFC's own website does not list it)

4 ₹1L 0.5% – 1% per day (182.5% – 365% a year); the site also prints an APR of 15% – 35% Read Review
33

DhanCash

Ind Global Securities Limited

4 ₹1L 0.4% – 1.1% per day (146% – 401.5% a year) Read Review
34

Aditya Birla Personal Loan

Aditya Birla Capital Limited (NBFC-ICC, Upper Layer; Aditya Birla Finance merged into it)

4 ₹50L 10% – 28% p.a. Read Review
35

DigiCredit

Khosya Finlease Private Limited (NBFC); DSG Investments Private Limited also shown as a partner

4 ₹75,000 Up to 36% p.a. (stated cap; floor not disclosed) Read Review
36

FatakPay

FDPL Finance Private Limited (wholly-owned RBI-registered NBFC subsidiary, sole lender)

4 ₹5L 18% – 40% p.a. Read Review
37

InstaMoney

Innofin Solutions Private Limited; Aeroflex Finance Private Limited (NBFCs). InstaMoney is operated by Roctogen Services Pvt Ltd (not an NBFC).

4 ₹1L 24% – 48% p.a. Read Review
38

Ram Fincorp

R.K. Bansal Finance Private Limited (NBFC, self-declared RBI registration B-14.00700); Ram Fincorp = Kundanmal Technology Pvt Ltd, LSP only

4 ₹2L 15% – 35% p.a. (listed) Read Review
39

RapidMoney

RuLoans Financial Services Pvt Ltd; Pooja Finstock International Ltd (PFIL Finance); Fintree Finance Pvt Ltd — RapidMoney (MoneyTime Technology Solutions Pvt Ltd) is an LSP

4 ₹15,000 36.5% – 54.75% p.a. (quoted as 0.1% – 0.15% per day), before the 15% processing fee Read Review
40

Unity SFB Personal Loan

Unity Small Finance Bank Limited (bank, lends on own book)

4 ₹5L 16% – 30% p.a. Read Review
41

Zype

Respo Financial Capital Private Limited

4 ₹5L 18% – 34% p.a. Read Review
42

True Fund

4 ₹0 Not disclosed Read Review
43

Tap4Credit

4 ₹0 Not disclosed Read Review
44

Poonawalla Fincorp

4 ₹5L 16% p.a. onwards (no published cap) Read Review
45

PayTrust

4 ₹0 Not disclosed Read Review
46

HDFC SmartEMI

HDFC Bank Limited (scheduled private sector bank)

4 ₹0 From 0.99% per month; rates actually charged Apr–Jun 2026: 10.80%–24.96% p.a. Read Review
47

DMI Finance

4 ₹10L 13.99% – 24.90% p.a. Read Review
48

Cash247

Siddhi Traders Pvt Ltd, Chhotaria Securities Pvt Ltd, Meghdoot Mercantile Pvt Ltd, Swaroop Finance Pvt Ltd (none verified on RBI records)

4 ₹0 10.99% p.a. advertised; 14% shown elsewhere on the same site; max not disclosed Read Review
49

BharatPe Credit Line

YES Bank (Pay Later line); personal loans via BharatPe Capital, Unity Small Finance Bank, Poonawalla Fincorp, InCred, Piramal Finance, Aditya Birla Capital, L&T Finance and other partner lenders

4 ₹15L 18% – 70% p.a. Read Review
50

ZapCash

Weekline Investment & Trading Co. Limited (also BMW Fin-Invest Private Limited)

3.8 ₹5L 12% – 30% p.a. advertised; lender policy prices payday loans at 0.10% – 1.00% per day Read Review
51

Prefr

Aditya Birla Capital Finance, Poonawalla Fincorp, SMFG India Credit, Zype, MAS Financial Services

3.2 ₹5L 18% – 30% p.a. Read Review
52

SMFG India Credit

SMFG India Credit Company Limited

2.6 ₹10L 12.50% – 30.00% p.a. Read Review

Disclaimer: BankCreds.com is a loan comparison platform and does not directly lend, disburse, or provide any financial products. We aggregate and display loan offers from RBI-registered banks and NBFCs to help you make an informed decision. All loan applications are processed directly by the respective lender. Interest rates, charges, eligibility, and terms shown are indicative and subject to the lender's final assessment. Please read the lender's terms and conditions carefully before applying.